The World is Full of Suffering…

“Although the world is full of suffering, it is full also of the overcoming of it” ~Helen Keller

I agree there is a lot of suffering taking place in the world. Suffering, tragedies, disasters, melt-downs, terrorism, violence, assault, poverty, homelessness, hate, racism, self-hate, illness, natural-disasters, war, and I am sure there is more…

A lot of times the suffering seems unjust and unfair, but our suffering is an opportunity for us to overcome adversity.  This does not mean that we have to smile through it all, pretend nothing is wrong, and just tough it out or numb out.  It is okay to fall apart, feel our feelings, seek help and support, and cry when we are sad (I think that is healthier than trying to pretend that nothing is wrong).  After falling apart we can put ourselves back together and may be better than before, it is healthy and healing when we feel our feelings, we learn who our true friends are when we are struggling, times of suffering are full of “moments of truth”, and sometimes crying is just as therapeutic as laughter.  Have you heard the phrase, “we laughed until we cried?”

I know this because I used to constantly hide behind a smile, try to figure it out on my own, and play it off like everything was ALWAYS okay.  This worked for awhile, in fact it really did help me survive through nightmares I learned that I am stronger than I ever knew I was. I also stayed hopeful and prayed Constantly. Now I am learning to feel my  feelings and it is definitely a journey sometimes it feels harder to feel. I am starting to see that once I feel it is okay and I can move forward with my life rather than hanging on to that piece of  suffering.  It doesn’t necessarily go away overnight, but I have given it some thought.

I believe that obstacles are placed before us to strengthen us. We are ALL SO amazing to overcome EVERYTHING that we have.

I love my broken-hearted butterflies.  Even they can Fly and connect with other hearts to become whole again.
I love my broken-hearted butterflies. Even they can Fly and connect with other hearts to become whole again.
3 thoughts on “The World is Full of Suffering…

  1. I like the broken hearted butterflies a lot. I also like the head space of overcoming obstacles, at least at the moment I am writing this–sometimes I say “forget it” depending on the situation. I just got home from indoor rock climbing at the Warehouse Rock Gym in downtown Oly which will always present me with physical and mental obstacles.

  2. Thank you so much Blake! Great job with the rock climbing I need to do that I sure miss it. I like that concept of practicing with situations that present physical and mental obstacles. I hope you will have a wonderfully Merry Christmas and a Happy Happy New Year. ~Alana

Leave a Reply

