Does the number on the scale affect our beauty and our value?

Earlier this week someone came up to me and told me to stop eating because I have started gaining weight.  It caught me off guard because she was very supportive of me throughout the summer and fall when I was trying to embrace a healthy lifestyle and as a result, started losing weight. I was slightly taken aback by her blunt comments, but I decided to take it as a friendly reminder coming from someone who cared about my health.  Even after shifting my perspective the sting still stayed.  2 days later she came back and spent nearly 10 minutes telling me about how I need to stop gaining weight and how it would negatively impact my life.  She also told me that I am beautiful, but would be less beautiful if I continued gaining weight.

I will be the first to admit that I got off track these past few months and wrestled with lack of motivation more than I would like to admit.  My priorities shifted, I spread myself thin, and overindulged once the holidays hit.  These were all choices that I made and I know for a fact that I fully enjoyed that peppermint bark and every single sip of the decadent peppermint white chocolate mochas.  Numbers on the scale and the size of my waistline might have grown a little over the months, but I am still me.  I have been working on self-acceptance and accepting myself and the skin that I am in.

Whether we have a long ways to go, are where we would like to be and are working on maintenance, or if we are beginning the journey to the person we would like to become; this is our lives.  I know that I don’t want to spend my life punishing and chastising myself for the past decisions I chose to make.  I am the one who got myself to my current state and if I don’t like it I can change it. This is an empowering place to come from.The way I look doesn’t make me less beautiful or valuable as a person.

Those words hurt my feelings it’s as simple as that.  After the first time they mentioned it I tried not to take it personally, but the fact that they said it twice in one week to me hurt.  It’s ok.  Sometimes the truth hurts and I am adding it to my arsenal of motivation.  I am ready for more positive changes in my life!  Another thing to remember is that we never have to take the words of others personally.  I think that living a healthy and active lifestyle can increase the quality of our lives and help us to become more confident individuals, but no matter what our age, size, orientation, or beliefs we are still BEAUTIFUL SOULS.

IMG_3409

3 thoughts on “Does the number on the scale affect our beauty and our value?

  1. Reblogged this on Living Out Loud and commented:

    I feel inspired by my past musings… I remember how much those words stung. Just this week I noticed that this time around, I feel less confident in my Afro-Brazilian Dance class because most of the girls are smaller and more fit than me and have dance experience.
    It is weird how much I have allowed this to get to me. I shouldn’t compare myself and let other people get me down. The people in my class are all nice and accepting so there is no reason for me to feel this way. We are all on this journey of life.

    Love, Peace, and Joy,

    ❤ Alana Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

