When I Grow Up I Want To Be…

“What did you think was the coolest job in the world when you were younger? Do you still feel that way now?”

When I was a little girl it was a tie between wanting to be a Ballerina Civil Engineer and a Doctor.  My dad was a civil engineer and I have always been fascinated with bridges.  At the same time, I was a girlie girl and had my heart set on being a ballerina with a pink and puffy tutu.  I also wanted to be a Doctor and help people feel better when they were sick.

IMG_0214 (1)IMG_5936

I still think that these are pretty cool jobs.  I still wish that I could be a ballerina with immaculate posture and grace.  Not to mention a phenomenal dancer’s physique, but I think my chances in that career path have passed.

Engineering is an excellent job choice, but I do not feel confident in my math skills at this point.  I have been considering becoming a doctor, but I am starting from scratch and that would take a lot of schooling and catch up on my part.

Now that I am back in school I am on a path to become who I want to be “when I grow up.”  This year I am facing my fear of technology and math and am studying computers.  I would like to do something with technology and the medical field.  I am looking forward to finding out where I will end up and am enjoying the journey along the way.
NaBloPoMo November 2015

6 thoughts on “When I Grow Up I Want To Be…

  1. Good read and all the best in all that you do. When I was little, I wanted to be a doctor but the subject did not interest me and I moved towards Maths which was great and I became an Engineer. I was happy cos I did what I wanted to. When I started working was when I realized – where is Engineering now and I moved again. Now I am in Human Resources and I totally love it. Not something that I even knew existed earlier. So – life takes you on a lot of turns. Sometimes listen to what the messages are and sometimes choose your own way.

    Stopping by from the Blogher Blogroll 🙂 Happy NaBloPoMo!

    1. Happy NaBloPoMo! Thanks for stopping by and for your inspirational message. Life is definitely a journey. I am glad that you found a path that you love and enjoy in human resources. It sounds like you are multi-faceted with your experience in math and engineering too. I really appreciate the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

