Infamous Red Cup Controversy

I just had to weigh in on  this Starbucks Red Cup Controversy. At first I thought it was a silly topic to ruffle feathers over, but apparently it was important enough to get media attention and start a whole radio conversation over.  There must be Something to it.

Last week, on my way to work I was listening to the radio and they talked about how many customers had complained about the holiday red cup design.  Many people said that it was a shot at Christianity that Starbucks was taking away the holiday spirit by not decorating their cups with holiday-like designs.  One individual went as far to say that “Starbucks wanted to take Christ and Christmas off of their brand new cups that’s why they are plain red.”  He also said that Starbucks does not allow their employees to say “Merry Christmas” so when they ask him for his name to write on his cup he says his name is “Merry Christmas.”

STARBUCK_RED_CUP
Image borrowed from Vox.

I have to admit that I was a little disappointed when I saw the plain red cup.  I liked the fall addition of Starbucks cup which was white with colorful fall leaves.  There is something festive about having a decoratively ornate cup.  At the same time, I do not think that the spirit of Christmas should be defined by the design on a coffee cup.  

If I had an opportunity to chime in my two cents to the designers of the Starbuck’s cups; I would suggest that we use the plain red cup as a backdrop.  We could hold a “cup-decorating” contest and whoever designs the Best cup will have their design featured on next holiday season’s cup.  

What would your cup design look like if their were no parameters?  Would you feature religious symbols on your cup?  I want to hear what your opinion is of this “red cup controversy.”

Until next time Peace, Love, and Joy,

Alana Xoxoxo
NaBloPoMo November 2014

2 thoughts on “Infamous Red Cup Controversy

  1. I miss the fun Christmas designs, but I have to say that as a Christian I never ever thought they represented Christ or Christianity in any way. They were simply another symbol of Christmas, the commercial holiday and they were fun yes, but they had nothing to do with the true religious spirit of the holiday. I find it a bit ridiculous that there are people who feel like they need snowflakes and snow men on their Starbucks cups to be able to appreciate the religious side of the holiday. You are so right that the spirit of Christmas, whether you want to go down the religious route or simply the family orientated holiday of giving and togetherness route, should not be defined by a cup design.

    I’ve also never had a member of staff in any store wish me a Merry Christmas, so I guess I just don’t get that bit because it’s what I’m used to. I’m perfectly happy and filled with seasonal joy when they hand me my drink with a smile and a pleasant word, I don’t need a token ‘Merry Christmas’ from them. ‘Have a nice day’ is perfect, or even simply a ‘here you go, enjoy!’.

    All a bit daft to me!

    As for cup design, I’d get lots more white snowflakes going on. Not snow men, just pretty snow flakes. I mean, they are literally seasonal considering, you know, it’s winter…and it snows in winter…:p

    1. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts. I enjoyed hearing your perspective. I completely agree. Not being wished Merry Christmas doesn’t bother me or detract from the holiday. I feel like we can still be cheerful and spread joy.

      I also like your design idea. I love snowflakes and how complex, delicate, and intricately beautiful they are –just like people. I think you and I have a similar design idea. I think it would be nice to use a blue background with white snowflakes or vice versa.

      Thanks for stopping by! Have a Wonderful weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

