Tea of the Day: Wu Wei

IMG_5990

I am going to start doing things that make me happy again.  One of my joys in life is enjoying a good cup of tea.  Last night we went to a Thai restaurant and I chose a tea that is new to me it is called “Wu Wei”  It was a nice compliment to a delicious dinner of calamari and spicy seafood phad thai.

The tea is herbal and caffeine free which was important to me at the late hour.  It was slightly sweet yet tart, calming, and a little bitter at the same time.  I really enjoyed the calming complexities of flavor.  I also got to learn about a Taoist concept.

Wu Wei (chinese, literally “non-doing”) is an important concept of Taoism which means natural action, or in other words, action that does not involve struggle or excessive effort. Wu wei is the cultivation of a mental state in which our actions are quite effortlessly in alignment with the flow of life.

This is my goal in life.  To be able to flow through life.  “Effortless alignment with the flow of life” sure sounds heavenly.  I do not think that my life will ever be effortless, but I do want to put my energy in the right places.  It was nice to enjoy and wonderful cup of tea and take some introspective moments.

I think I will do “Tea of the Day” more often.  It brings me joy and peace.

Peace, Joy, Blessings, and Sweet Dreams My friends,

Alana xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

