Reflect On Your Past Then Draw Strength From It

“By prevailing over all obstacles and distractions, one may unfailingly arrive at his chosen goal or destination.”  -Christopher Columbus

photo-1444703686981-a3abbc4d4fe3

I am honestly more easily distracted than I would like to admit.  I will get started with a  task then quickly flit to something else.  I have been this way for the past few years, but I know that in the past I was able to stay focused and on task.

In the past, I could memorize multiple-page long concertos and perform in front of an audience and a panel of judges.  I could memorize and perform songs in Italian, German, French, English, and Latin.  In order to accomplish these tasks I had to dedicate hours of my life consistently to practicing and honing my craft.

In my past, I was on swim team and I practiced over ten hours a week to race well at swim meets.  I stayed in the pool and completed the workouts on good days, bad days, and days when I was so tired I could barely get out of bed.

In my past, I stuck with a vegan then vegetarian lifestyle for over two years.  It was challenging, but worth-it.  My skin had a radiant glow, my clothes fit better than ever before.  And my energy levels were at an all-time high.

In my past, I worked 3 jobs to make ends meet.  I would rise at 3:45 am, walk out the door then walk to work at 4 am then start at 4:30 and work until 10 then I would work my 2nd job from 10:45-1:45, and finally end my day with coaching swim team from 3:30 and sometimes I wouldn’t be done until 9 pm.  In order to sustain this schedule I had to be organized and make sacrifices.  I did what I had to.

In my past, my car broke down leaving me with no transportation so I took the bus to and from work.  This was not easy.  I left my house at 6:45 to take the 7:10 bus and didn’t arrive at work until about 9:30.  I would work a full day then walk to the bus stop and many times, I would not get home until after 9:45 at night.  I also had to prepare my meals ahead of time since I could not stop and pick up food anytime I pleased.  Relying on public transportation was time consuming and required organization and many sacrifices.

In my past, I worked in a hot pool full-time and worked out at least 3 x’s a week during my 50 minute lunch break.  My discipline and dedication showed in my results.

Clearly, from my past I am capable of staying focused and dedicated and accomplishing my goals.  Why am I struggling with my early mornings, my one full time job, and being in school.  Why is it so hard for me to create a workout/nutrition routine and stick with it?

I have a safe place to call home, I am in a loving relationship, I have a dependable full-time job, and I am back in school (a goal I have had for years).  I think I have needed some time to recover.  Maybe throughout these years I have been burning the candle from both ends.  That is okay because I am young right now and I need to work hard to create a brighter future for myself.

I think the answer is that I need to work smarter NOT harder.  It is okay to take some time to recover, but once you have recovered; get back on track and hit the pavement running!

I will admit to the fact that I have been very easily distracted these past few years, but I was also struggling to make ends meet from month to month.  Maybe my distractions kept me sane.  My life has lacked stability until now.  Now I finally have stability and I need to make the most of this opportunity.  I am determined to prove to myself that I can stay focused and succeed.  The only person who can make these changes is me.

So take some time to reflect on your past, then draw strength from it and move forward!

You CAN do it and I am sure that you will be surprised with all that you can accomplish when you believe in yourself.

Peace, Love, and Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxo
NaBloPoMo November 2015

Leave a Reply

