My Facebook-Free Life

I promise that I am not here to trash-talk or bash Facebook.  I think that it is the easiest and best way to stay in touch with friends and family  even if they live miles away.

I remember when I first got Facebook…  At the end of summer a little more than a decade ago, I was so excited when my college email arrived in the mail along with my roommate assignment.  Back then, you had to have a college email address to have a Facebook.   The Myspace-craze was beginning to simmer down and it was a way for me to get acquainted with other upcoming students.  Back then I believe that you could post pictures, send private messages to friends, write on somebody’s wall, and “poke somebody.”  I am still not exactly sure what the poking feature is supposed to accomplish.  It was pretty cool back then and the Facebook craze has continued.

I believe I deleted my first-ever FB account when I returned from Cali 5 years ago.  I wanted a fresh start so I started a new profile.  That went on for about 2 more years.  It was a wonderful way for me to reconnect with my friends and post too many pics.  

At the end of 2012, I deleted that Facebook (now I kind of regret it because it would have been nice to still have some of my old pics).  When I deleted that Facebook, I decided to start writing this blog.  I believe it was in early February of 2013 that a friend of mine insisted that I create another facebook profile.  She even physically created it for me and had me change my password.  She was trying to play “match-maker” and get me to start seeing a family friend.  That relationship never went anywhere, but my Facebook profile remained and thrived for the customary 2.5 some years.  

I was on it daily.  It kept me in the circulation of many loops from life milestones like high school/college graduations, engagements, marriages, and baby gender-reveals to upcoming events at gyms and the social gatherings of friends.  If I was bored or had time to kill I could log on and be dazzled by the adventures (and misadventures) of my friends.  Even when I didn’t have time to spare, I still made time to log on and check on the status of life.  I also liked being able to link my blog and Instagram to my facebook profile.  I would say it became an addiction.  I liked staying in touch with my friends and I’ll admit it.  I liked being “liked.”  It felt good to feel appreciated. 

One day I decided just like that that it was time to delete my Facebook.

 I have done the classic “deactivate my account for a few weeks.”  Then log back in.  I think I was most worried about losing all of my pictures and the “timeline of my life.”  I enjoyed that part.  I even started to try and import my facebook profile, but never finished the process.

I deleted it probably 2 months ago along with my beloved Instagram profile and have not logged back in since.  It was just time to start a new phase in my life.  I am finally in school.  I have a new job.  Serious relationships.  New home.  And my age is beginning to sink in.  I feel compelled to take my life seriously.  Finally.  It’s about time.  

It has not been easy feeling somewhat out of the loop, but it hasn’t been a struggle either.  I think it was a positive change.  I have had more time to study, write, blog, and focus on what is important to me.

Sometimes in our lives, big changes are necessary if we want to move in a different direction and get different results.  

Have you made some big changes in your life recently?  Where are you hoping to go and do you like who you are becoming?

Whatever you are doing, you CAN Do it!!!!

Peace, Love, And Blessings Always,

Alana  Xoxoxox0

 

3 thoughts on “My Facebook-Free Life

Leave a Reply

