Workout and Word of the Day #16

41e11b48b27bac7b4667c9175b84c6a4

It was back to work again today.  Gotta love Mondays!  I still need to work on my “get to bed at a decent time task.”  I was pretty tired when I woke up so I left a little early and picked up a slice of veggie quiche and vanilla chai tea.

On my way home, I started to get a headache again like I was getting last week I think I have discovered the culprit.  This month I have started wearing my hear in ponytails and buns ( I haven’t done that in years) so I guess I just need to make them less tight…  Or get a hair cut because my hair is looking a little ratty around the edges.

I feel good about my dinner/meal-prep for tomorrow.  I made baked salmon and ate it over a bed of spinach.  After dinner I headed downtown to the Y…  To my dismay, there was NO parking to be found within walking distance.  I must have been driving around for a good ten minutes.  Christopher suggested that I just take the evening off, but I didn’t want to turn in that easily even though it was tempting.  Just as I was about to give up, I found a spot to pull into and made it to class just 5 minutes late.  I made it to

MIXXEDFIT!!!

It was a lot of fun, but I was dragging more than usual.  In the middle of the workout I was even having 2nd thoughts about doing strength training tonight.  I was almost going to talk myself out of it because I was feeling a little week, but I went anyways!

Tonight’s Workout of the Day:  Full-Body Circuit

PRACTICE 3 sets of 15!  Do the entire circuit 3 times through!  YOU CAN DO IT!!!

  • Push-ups
  • Squats
  • Dumbell flys
  • Sumo Squats
  • Bench Dips
  • Wall-sit (1 minute)
  • Lateral Dumbell Raises
  • 50 Jumping Jacks
  • Crunches
  • Tricep Extension
  • 50 Jumping Jacks
  • Scissors (1 Minute)

This was a good and challenging workout.  Lately I have been concentrating on mainly single-body parts, but I think I am going to start transitioning to more of a full-body approach and also add in bursts of cardio!  Let me know what you think!


Today’s Word of the Day is:

Forum- noun

  1. a place or method for discussion: An example of a forum is an online message board
  2. a law court; tribunal
  3. an assembly, place, radio program, Internet site, etc. for the discussion of public matters or current questions.
  4. an opportunity for open discussion.

Today was another example of me almost making excuses and skipping my workout, but working out anyways.  That is a big success for me and a definite sign of progress!   In the recent past I have skipped many planned workouts without even giving it a 2nd thought.

As I was working out I was so glad that I chose to do it and I finished feeling strong and rejuvenated!  Now I just need to figure out a good playlist to workout to.  

Does anyone have any suggestions of a good workout playlist?  I am currently using Spotify.  

Another big change that I am choosing to make is using more natural products.  I have started using this “Gen Maicha Green Tea Coconut Cream Moisturizer” that I am ABSOLUTELY obsessed with!  It smells so good without being overbearing.  It is pretty rich so I am using it as a night moisturizer before bed.  The first time I did it I was worried that the caffeine in the tea would interfere with my sleep, but I slept soundly that night.  I woke up with soft, fresh skin and I noticed that my complexion had a glow.  Tonight, I have applied a little to the tips of my hair.  I will let you know how that goes!!!

Congratulations!  We have made it through the final Monday in January and are starting this week strong!  Let’s keep it up!!!

Goodnight and Sweet Dreams, my dear darling friends!!!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

Alana xoxoxo

5 thoughts on “Workout and Word of the Day #16

  1. So many good things in this post!! Good job for not making an excuse! Great workout… I’m going to do it after my run tomorrow! And I want that moisturizer! I didn’t see a link… is this something you can get through Amazon? I suppose I could Google it, lol!!

    1. Thanks so much!!! I hope you will have a wonderful run and workout! You are definitely one of my fitness inspirations with all your runs, half-marathons, and bling! And yes, I will send you the link for the moisturizer. I have tried lots of different formulas and this one has been the best so far!

  2. Great Monday! Your workout of the day looks great 🙂 my personal opinion is to keep isolating body parts, and do total body 1-2 times a week. It’s makes it easier to build muscle when you’re giving them time to repair in between the isolated workout! Spotify is great there are so many good workout playlists, I just type in “workout” and can usually find a ton!

    1. Thanks! I really appreciate your suggestion. I will continue to isolate body-parts. I am very new to resistance training consistently. My goals are to lose weight then tone. Thanks for always being so encouraging Tina! You are a true inspiration! Xoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

