Today’s A Rest Day and I Will Give Up…

After you read this post you will understand why I chose this song to post!  Enjoy!!!

Not to worry!  There is Absolutely no way that I am giving up on my workouts!  I am sure the title might have looked a little alarming.

Today was Ash Wednesday and we have entered another Lenten season which is a perfect time for sacrifices and self-reflection.  

This year I have decided to give up:

  1. Coffee -which I have already gotten a head start on!

  2. Meat- I have been planning on making some dietary changes.  I wish I could say that I am giving up sweets and dairy…  Maybe sometime in the future.  For now giving up meat feels the most realistic to me.

  3. Distractions – Right now my priorities are my health and fitness (mental, spiritual, and physical), my relationship with Christopher, my full-time job, and school.  I will give up the distractions that pull me away.  That means giving up netflix for a while and giving up the distractions that pull me away from my studies.

  4. Excuses -I am enjoying my Transformation Project because I have been practicing being more honest with myself.  If I were completely honest with myself; I would know that I have made excuses to procrastinate from my priorities.  That is coming to an end!

I think for now this is a good start.  I like and appreciate how I have been using this year as an opportunity to really face my fears and work on my issues.  It is hard work, but I know that it will help me to heal and grow.

I woke up with a lump in my throat and I am hoping that I did not catch my friend Paige’s cold.  She said that she was getting over it.  I have been keeping my belly full of throat coat tea and honey.  Thank goodness for tea, right?!  I got to sleep in today and for the 1st time in over a week I am headache free!!!!  It is such a wonderful feeling.  I was getting really worried about my headaches.  Maybe I just need more sleep.  I will do my best to get to bed at an earlier hour.  

Today was a designated rest day and I think for the most part I did a good job with this.  I did however, go for a run.  It wasn’t raining and the sun was out.  How could I resist?!?!  I went for 30 minutes and it felt wonderful.  I got fresh air and a chance to clear my head.

When I got back from my run, I took a shower then headed to my massage.  I feel blessed to be living such a life of luxury!  In addition to my agonizing headaches, yesterday, my neck and torso felt all tight.  I think it was because I was overreaching on my spinning bike.  My massage therapist does such a great job and my tension melted like butter.  This time around I decided to hold off on the detox bath.  I don’t want a repeat of last week with the terrible headaches so I am trying to do things a little differently.  I feel good about the fact that I got a little exercise before my massage so that I would not have to feel bad about missing Mixxedfit tonight.

Honestly, now that I am on such a roll with my exercise; I am afraid to take days off.  I worry that if I stop I will go back to old patterns, but I am trying to learn a balance.  Rest and Recovery is important and essential for continual success and growth.  

I don’t think that I have been getting the best quality sleep so I will do a better job by not staying on the computer or watching Netflix before bed.  I will read a book or journal to help me unwind at the end of the day.  I really hope that I am not getting sick.  It is another reason why getting to bed at a decent time is a good idea…

I’m excited tomorrow I am going to shop for seeds and soil so that we can start gardening.  I have that wonderful Greenhouse and should do something with it, right?!?!

Maybe I ought to put a lime in the coconut to make me all better.  It’s a good thing I didn’t give up sweets, right?  Haha just kidding I had that “Lime in the Coconut” song stuck in my head today and wanted to share it!  Enjoy!

If you were planting a garden, what would you plant and why?  I’m curious.  Comment below I would love to hear your ideas :).

Goodnight my friends!  Tomorrow I will post another Workout and Word of the Day!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

2 thoughts on “Today’s A Rest Day and I Will Give Up…

  1. Sounds like a great evening!! Could you believe our weather today?! Ohmigosh, I wore shorts on my run… with gloves, but still!! :D. Glad your headaches are finally better!! Gardening… I would grow cherry tomatoes for salads, raspberries and strawberries because they’re nature’s candy, and any kind of squash because it just goes with everything!!

    1. Yes, it was Absolutely Gorgeous!!! That’s awesome that you ran in shorts! Thanks for the gardening ideas! I am picking up seeds today! I forgot about strawberries and raspberries. I’m so glad you suggested them 🙂

Leave a Reply

