Workout and Word of the Day #29

e482573c246c590bd5081d1d600c3fac

I am so happy that the weekend is here!  One thing that I like about planning my own workouts is the flexibility.  I have been trying to think of myself as my own “personal trainer.”  I guess it doesn’t get any more personal that doing it myself, right?  🙂  I had planned this week’s workout pattern to be Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday-rest, Thursday, Friday, Saturday- just cardio, Sunday-rest.  Christopher came home yesterday evening so I decided to take the evening off and make up for it today!

Instead of 8 am zumba; I decided to stay in bed a little longer then finally pried myself out of bed for 10:30 am Mixxedfit.  I didn’t want to leave, but I am glad that I went.  I had such a great workout and felt so full of energy!  It worked out that I didn’t go to the 8 am class because it was cancelled.  I made a new friend today.  Her name is Aurora and she is 65.  She said that she came for the  8 am zumba, but since it was cancelled she met a friend for breakfast then returned for Mixxedfit.  It was her 1st time and I am so glad that we got to dance together.  She recently lost her husband.  They were married for 44 years and used to travel the world together.  She said that he passed when they were on their way home from India.  I really admire her for making it a point to stay active and busy.  She is a true inspiration to me.  ❤

After Mixxedfit I wanted to race home to spend time with Christopher, but I knew that I had a workout to make up.  I tried to get my music playing, but my internet connection was down so I headed to the workout room and this is what I did!

Workout of the Day: Back/ Legs/ Biceps

Complete 2 sets of 15!

  • Lat Pull-downs
  • Side Lunges
  • Butt Kicks (1 minute)
  • Seated Rows
  • Kettlebell Squat and Row
  • Butt Kicks (1 minute)
  • Supermans
  • 50 Jumping Jacks
  • Hammer Curls
  • 50 Jumping Jacks
  • Plank Twists
  • Rotator Cuff Flys
  • 50 Jumping Jacks
  • 50 Bicycles

Mixxedfit gets me pumped up and warmed up for strength training so that’s a definite plus!  I would have to say that out of all the muscle-groups; back-day is the Most challenging for me!  I am glad that I am working on it!  What are some of your favorite back exercises?


Tonight’s Word of the Day is:

marmoreal- adjective

  1. of, relating to, or suggestive of marble or a marble statue especially in coldness or aloofness.

I am really enjoying this weekend and the nice thing about it is that it is only halfway through since I get Monday and Tuesday off for mid-winter break!  I do have to admit that I am a little disappointed because initially Christopher and I had made plans to spend all 4 days together, but he ended up having to go back up tonight because he has things for work he has to complete before Monday.  Sometimes being a responsible adult feels like a drag, right?!?!  I am only disappointed because I miss him, but I completely understand and I support him.  He always supports me.  

I feel so blessed to be with such an intelligent, motivated, kind, and ambitious young man.  He works full-time during the week and puts in long/dedicated hours in addition to running his own business.  And he makes it a point to spend time with me and his parents.  On some weekends he helps his co-worker do car repairs.  I know that it is not easy to divide your time like that, but he unselfishly does his best to share his time and talents for the people that he cares about.  I truly love and respect that with all my heart.  I must admit that when we 1st started dating it was harder for me to understand.  I used to be so sensitive and take everything so personally.  When he had to work extra hours I used to think that it was because he didn’t want to spend time with me.  It has been nice to finally reach a point where I can be more understanding.  Now that I am studying computers myself; I have the utmost respect for him.  It takes so much time and patience to code and program.  

Yes, I am a little sad that we don’t get to spend Valentine’s Day together, but it will be okay.  I had such a wonderful time with him last night.  We picked up our favorite soup to take home then he made us these delicious cocktails, we talked, laughed, danced around, and had a wonderful time.  I also got to plant the rest of my seeds.  I think I will be just fine if I don’t get roses tomorrow because he bought me a greenhouse and we have like 5 trays of plants!!!  So much to look forward to!

Do you have Romantic plans for Valentine’s Day?  I hope you will have a wonderful time.  I am sending you and big giant hug and ALL MY LOVE!!!

Love, Joy, and Blessings, Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

5 thoughts on “Workout and Word of the Day #29

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day, Alana! I admire that even when Christopher is home, you still do your workouts… it would be way too easy not to as you have such little time together! That was always one mistake I made when I was single… once I started dating someone, the workouts stopped. Good job! Hope you have a great day today!! xoxo

    1. Happy Valentine’s Day to you too, Paula! Thank you! It is so nice that you recognize that. It definitely isn’t easy to peel away for a workout and I have made that mistake way too many times in my past… In fact, when Christopher and I 1st started dating I abandoned my most of my workouts to spend time with him. I wanted to do things differently since I am working on “transforming my life.” I also like how I am a lot less irritable and probably more pleasant to be around when I make time to take care of myself. I hope you will have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!!! Thank you for being such an amazingly supportive friend! Xoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

