Study-Break Thoughts…

167b62fc19400a7abe7074852a7e3c93

I am enjoying my day off.  My kitten Alleyjandra still tries to wake me up at 5:30 am (like clock-work), but I managed to sleep in longer :).

When I woke up this morning, I still felt exhausted.  I think that stressing about being behind and feeling overwhelmed with everything that I have to do is actually more exhausting than actually doing it!

Do you ever look at Yelp restaurant reviews and peruse the delicious-looking pics just to motivate yourself to get out of bed?…  Yeah, maybe I am just weird…

I also woke up desperately craving pancakes so I made a deal with myself that if I completed Chapter 10; then I could take a study break for pancakes.

I realized last night that I still “use food” more than I should.

Last night when I was feeling a little sad I decided to eat the rest of my Indian Food hoping that it would give me energy to study.  I wasn’t that hungry and I still ended up feeling tired even after that.

I am grateful for the fact that I am a lot more aware when I am trying to use food to comfort myself.  In the past, food and coffee felt like a need or a necessity.  Now I can recognize when I am using it as a device.

The next step will be catching myself when I am wanting to go for an extracurricular snack-break and choosing to do something else…  Like drink green tea.  I did that this morning while I was studying and it helped me keep my “pancake craving” at bay :).

I successfully got through Chapter 10 and I am realizing that there is not shortcut around putting in the study-time.  Coffee won’t make me more effective.  Yes, it helps to ask your computer-savvy boyfriend for pointers and examples, but there is nothing more effective than getting down and typing actual code.  In the beginning it is confusing, but it eventually makes more sense!!!

I took a break and went to “Breakfast for lunch.”  I realized that I was surrounded by couples of all ages.  It made me feel so grateful for the fact that I no longer have to go through the somewhat agonizing process of dating people and making small talk.  I am so happy that I have my man and we always have exciting things to talk about!

It feels good to be in another phase in my life.

Breakfast for lunch was decent.  I think that my “pancake craving” has been satisfied for a very long time!

Here’s a fun fact:  Eating when or before you get hungry cuts down on that whole frantic/crazed feeling.

It is worth-it having a “Fred Meyer’s Rewards card” especially when I go to get gas and 10 cents gets knocked off the price per gallon!  Instant uplift in my day for real!

Now it is time for me to get back to work!!!

20160215_110107
Look at what I can do!!!  This is starting to get exciting!!!

I am on Chapter 10 and I have 6 chapters left to reach my goal by tomorrow!

Here goes!!!

Thanks for stopping by!  Come back soon!!!

Lots of Love,

Alana xoxoxo.

3 thoughts on “Study-Break Thoughts…

  1. Glad you had a day off although it still sounds like you were busy 🙂 Restaurant reviews to motivate you to get up…I like that Lol I’ll have to see if it works for me

  2. Sounds like a super positive day!! And pancakes are good for you!! And if you want to practice and have fun with your coding, do it with your blog! Go to the text only part and code away!! 😀 Glad you’re having a good day!!

Leave a Reply

