Workout and Word of the Day #30

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam 

Today was a productive day off for me…  I guess now it was more like yesterday, but I have an excuse for being late since I have been busy all evening.  I’ll tell you more about that a little later…

I got a lot of studying done today and it felt great!  I really just need to make it a point to put in the time.  It takes me awhile to get into a study-mode where I can slow down enough to concentrate and focus on problem-solving.  This is going to take some practice!

I was stressed because I was moving rooms today.  Luckily I don’t have a ton of stuff so the moving part of it was pretty easy, but before all that I went to workout.

I wanted to do something a little different so I wore shorts to the gym today.  It was definitely a change.  I haven’t worn shorts since this past summer when I was lifeguarding at the pool…  In fact those shorts were tight on me the last time I tried to put them on.  It is so nice to see that my workouts are paying off in the way that my clothes fit!  I am not seeing a big change with the number on the scale, but I am feeling better overall.

I went to MIXXEDFIT and had a grand time!!!  I have heard time after time that everyone has a form of exercise that genuinely brings them joy.  I would say that mine is dancing!  When I am dancing; I forget about all my problems and everything that was stressing me.  I completely forgot about the stresses of my move and all the things I had left to do.  I did feel like my shorts were a little to short though…  One of the other ladies in the class said that she loves my energy and how powerful I am.  It was such a nice compliment.  I love how powerful, strong, and sensual I feel when we are all dancing.  After Mixxedfit I felt all warmed up and ready to work!

Today’s Workout of the Day:  Chest, Arms, Legs

Complete 2 sets of 15 repetitions!!!

  • Push-ups
  • Medicine Ball Squats
  • 30 Mountain-climbers
  • Dumbell Flys on the ball
  • Sumo Squats
  • 30 Mountain-climbers
  • Bench Dips
  • Wall-sit 1 minute
  • Lateral Raises
  • 50 Jumping Jacks
  • Crunches on the Ball
  • Tricep Extensions
  • 50 Jumping Jacks
  • Scissors

I felt good throughout this workout, but one thing I have noticed is that I Always feel self-conscious when I do mountain climbers because my shirt rides up and my belly shows.  Right now, out of my entire body; I feel most self conscious about my belly.  I think that I am going to start focusing more on core work and really get more serious about clean nutrition (starting Wednesday).  I am so glad that it is within my power to change.


Word of the Day:

encomium-noun

  1. a formal expression of high praise.

I got home from work and it was time for me to move, move, move and clean, clean clean.  And I got it all done!  I still have stuff to go through, process, and purge, but that will be a work in progress.  A project that I shall start tomorrow.  

I think that I am actually going to like our new room.  It is pretty cute.  This evening when Christopher and I talked he gave me some advice on housekeeping.  He said he knew that we have less space so he suggested putting less in the bathroom so it will be easier to maintain.  And he’s right.  I was able to humble myself enough to listen rather than getting defensive.  

There have been a couple of times when he has come home for the weekend and the house has been somewhat in a disarray.   Nothing is too unruly, but it has not been as pristinely clean as I would like it to be.  Let’s face it, learning how to balance full-time work, full-time school, and working out has been consuming all of my time and I haven’t had a lot of time and energy to do much else.  I am honestly glad that it is not because I am slacking.  I actually have a valid reason.  He did say that he wasn’t upset and he wasn’t trying to lecture me.  I did feel a little hurt though.  I said, “Is there anything else about me that is bothering you that we should address?”  I was bracing myself for the worst and was surprised by his answer.  He said, “I just want you to love yourself like I do.”  I was so touched and just about in tears.  I am going to do my best to take that one to heart…

Tonight I ate late and had a slice of delicious strawberry rhubarb pie.  Yeah, my nutrition has not been the best lately.  I am just going to try to make Better choices everyday.

I know that especially lately I have been writing more about my personal life in my “Workout and Word of the Day.”  I hope it doesn’t bother you.  I think it gives me a chance to reflect…  Often times, I look back on past posts so that I can see the progress that I have made it serves as a nice timeline. 

Thank you for being so supportive and encouraging and joining me on my journey.  It really and truly means the world to me!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Workout and Word of the Day #30

  1. This is like your journal that you’re sharing with the rest of us! I definitely don’t mind seeing your progress! How’s your stress level today? Is it better since you studied and took care of the huge task of changing rooms?

    1. Yes, that’s a great way to describe it. I guess part of the reason why I didn’t make it into a specific niche blog was because I have so many interests and wanted to record my adventures. Yes, I feel a lot less stressed with the move out of the way and some studying done. I hope you are having a wonderful day today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

