Workout and Word of the Day #32

d914aba94388a7da660bb8c83db1e1ef

Today was my first day back to work for the week and the fact that it wasn’t a Monday was Such a nice touch!  It was hard to pry myself out of bed.  I was feeling pretty tired, but I guess that is just the nature of having a job.

Today was also Day 1 of my 7 Day Challenge!!!

This is What I ate today:

Breakfast:

  • Blood Orange
  • Mixed nuts (raw almonds, cashews, brazil nuts, pecans)
  • Pure peppermint tea

Lunch:

  • Baby Spinach
  • Mixed Nuts
  • Mandarin Shrimp on top

Dinner:

  • Shrimp and Vegetable Stir-fry Dinner (by Eating Right in the freezer section)

Post-Workout Snack:

  • Spinach Bean, and Cheese Wrap with a gluten free tortilla
  • Sweet Orange tea

And I drank lemon water throughout the day!

This is a good challenge for me and it wasn’t easy.  I felt several cravings kick in today.  I was craving bread and ice cream…  And a little while ago I was going to reach for a handful of saltines, but then I remembered that I just have to make it 7 days.  I gave up meat for lent and have been sticking with that.  I like how this challenge is helping me to be more mindful of my choices!

I have honestly been feeling a little unmotivated to do my gym workouts.  At work I help teach 2 spinning classes so we end up spinning probably a total of 40 minutes altogether.  By the time I get off work I am pretty wiped out even though it is only 2:00.  After work I met my friend Mica for a walk around the lake.  It was so nice to get some fresh air.  I think I need to spend more time outside.

I am just going to blame my tiredness on the fact that maybe this is an adjustment period.  I got those new classes and haven’t been used to spinning everyday so I have to take that into account.  I also think that nutrition plays a big role in my energy levels!  It’s a good thing that I am doing that challenge.

When I got home I really didn’t want to work out!  NOT AGAIN!!!  It has been like this the past few days.  I have been fighting it and I am a little concerned.  I think it could also be that this is the longest that I have ever stuck with a resistance training workout routine.  Usually by week 2 I fizzle out and here I am now…  Just completed my 32nd workout!

Tomorrow immediately after work; I have a massage so if I am going to take the evening off I wanted to make sure that I earned it.  I pulled myself together and headed to the gym just in time for

MIXXEDFIT!

Hey, get your back off the wall
Don’t you get comfortable
Looking so hot
I think that I might fall…

Just what I want
So when we move
You move

And just like yesterday I was feeling tired, but I gave it my all.  Before class I gave myself permission to possibly leave right after Mixxedfit, but I wanted to get some resistance training in.  I definitely felt sore from yesterday’s kettlebell circuit.  It’s such a glorious feeling to know that you challenged yourself to grow stronger!!!!

Workout of the Day: HIT IT FROM THE BACK!!!

Complete 2 sets of 15 for a STRONG Back!!!

  • T Bar Rows
  • Deadlifts with a Calf Raise
  • Push-ups
  • Bulgarian Split Squats
  • 1 arm-dumbell rows
  • Upright Rows

Then I decided I wanted to do a booty workout too!

Complete 2 sets of 25!!!

  • Leg Lifts
  • Donkey Kicks
  • Leg Pulses
  • Fire Hydrants
  • 50 Butt Bridges

Make sure that you spend some quality time stretching afterwards and drink lots of water!


Today’s Word of the Day is:

celerity- noun

  • swiftness; speed

I feel like I put in a good day’s work!  It wasn’t easy to push through and workout when I really didn’t want to, but I am glad that I did.  I don’t want to burn out, but I also don’t want to get tangled into a web pattern of excuses.  I have done that before and I wasn’t too impressed with the results.  This time, I am trying new things and doing things differently.

What are small changes you have made that have improved the quality of your life?  Comment below to share your ideas!  I would love to hear them.

Have a wonderful night, my Dear Darling Friends!

Love, Joy, and blessings Always,

Alana xoxoxo

4 thoughts on “Workout and Word of the Day #32

    1. Thank you!!! You always know the right thing to say. Your whole thought about how we can do anything for 7 days has really been a driving motivator for me. You are so awesome!!! Xoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

