Workout and Word of the Day #34

e838da6d583f8f70c87bb595c876ddf3.jpg

Today wasn’t bad for a Monday!  Over the weekend I was hoping that I would wake up extra early and try the 5:30 am workout class, but I still need to workout the logistics.  I have a new puppy and we have figured out our schedule with me leaving for work at 7 am, but moving things up to 5 am could make it more complicated and I don’t really want to drive back and forth.  It would look like this:

  • 4:30-5 Wake up/ feed Cats and Puppy/ Take puppy out
  • 5:00 leave for gym
  • 5:30-6:15 Workout 6:15-6:45 ish RACE HOME!
  • 6:45-7 Let Ruby out/get ready for work
  • 7 Leave for work
  • 7:30 Work

I know that there are probably tons of people who make this work.  They workout before work and have established a solid routine.  Right now this seems like an awful lot to do at such an early hour.

I just need to take a giant step back.  Away from my doubts, fears, and feelings of being overwhelmed…  And take a look at the big picture.

  1. What is my overall workout goal? I want to establish a workout routine that fits into my life and schedule.  I need to balance work, school, homework, family, pets, sanity, and everything in between!
  2. What time of day do I want to workout?  I have enjoyed working out in the evening and I absolutely love my Mixxedfit and Zumba classes, but I am going to have to take evening classes so I will have to workout in the morning before work to fit everything in.
  3. What is realistic for me and my schedule? There is no way around the fact that I will have to make sacrifices.  It may be in the form of some sleep or some down time, but I need to keep my bigger picture in mind.

This morning I chose sleep over an early morning workout.  I think I was stressing over it so much the night before that it interfered with my sleep.  I am trying to eat within an hour from the time that I wake up so this morning I had blueberries and almonds.  I think it helped give me energy.  For lunch I have been slacking a little and eating canned soup because it is easy and filling, but I know that it is not the best option because it is high in sodium.  Tomorrow will probably be another soup day, but I will make sure that I drink plenty of water and tomorrow afternoon I will cook a big enough meal for dinner and the next day’s lunch.  I had a really big appetite today and that worries me a little, but I am going to try not to overthink it and just make healthier choices.

After work I had a really relaxing massage.  In fact it was so relaxing that I fell asleep.  I felt inclined to take the day off, but it IS Monday and the 1st day of the “Let’s Move for a Better World Challenge.”  For some reason I was so nervous about going in to workout, but I did it and I am glad that I did.  I Spent some quality time on the elliptical and learned some TRX moves!

Today’s Workout of the Day: Elliptical/TRX

Warm up with 15 minutes on the elliptical (I set mine to level 8) and worked up a good sweat in a short amount of time!

  • TRX Squats 10
  • TRX One-legged squats (10 both sides!)
  • One-legged Squat Pulse for 10
  • One-legged Squat then drive knee into chest
  • TRX bicep curl with chest fly combo
  • Super Planks
  • TRX Push-ups

This was a short and sweet workout, but a very good introduction to TRX.

Finish STRONGLY with 20 Minutes on the elliptical!!!


Word of the Day:

lexical- adjective

  1. of or relating to words or the vocabulary of a language as distinguished from its grammar and construction
  2. of or relating to a lexicon or to lexicography

I am glad that I decided to workout today, but I still think that there are NOT enough hours in the day!  It was a full day and I am a little bummed and worried because Christopher and I didn’t get a chance to talk today.  I hate to admit that whenever we don’t get to talk my mind automatically goes into worry mode.  I worry that something’s wrong or that he is upset with me.  Most of the time he is just busy…

I think that this is something that I need to personally work on.  I need to work on being more trusting and to focus on myself rather than spending all that time stressing and worrying.  It is a bad habit that I want to break.

I think that this week is off to a great start!  I better head to bed!

Peace, Love, and Blessings Always,

Alana xoxoxo

 

 

3 thoughts on “Workout and Word of the Day #34

  1. I understand. I get such anxiety before my morning workouts. I am always glad I did it. I think my worrying is more exhausting than my workout! Good luck! You will get it done. It matters
    to you. You will do it.

Leave a Reply

