Workout and Word of the Day #36

In the past 3 weeks I have had two pretty big life changes.  I moved AND Christopher got us a new puppy.  I have been feeling a little frustrated, discouraged, tired, and physically unmotivated when it comes to working out lately.  I have been beating myself up over it and trying to say that this has been happening because I don’t want it bad enough.

When I take a step back to look at what is really happening I see that I have been busy, life has been changing, and the new puppy which means a brand new routine; could be contributing  to how tired I am these days.  Potty training and house-breaking is NOT for the faint of heart, you could say :).

I have reverted back to comfort food to make me feel better and That worries me.  Are my hormones awry?  Yeah, there’s a lot going on in my life right now.  On top of all that I tried registering for spring quarter classes as soon as my section opened for registration and the classes I was counting on are completely full.  The wait list and the class is full.  So I am currently signed up for Statistics on Thursday night and the wait list for 2 other evening classes.  I am crossing my fingers.  Hopefully I will get into something good.  Keep me in your thoughts please!

I haven’t worked out in a gym for a long time.  I think having this puppy has messed with my schedule.  It is a full-time commitment!  I guess I just need to get a little more creative with my workouts and that might mean working out at home for awhile.  On my workouts of the day you may see some “walk-the-dog” kind of workouts so feel free to substitute that with cardio or a workout of your choice.  I have also been trying to make use of the pockets of time between classes at work and doing some core/body-weight type workouts so I will start documenting those too.

Yesterday’s Workout of the Day:

  • Spinning Class 40 minutes
  • Walk Ruby around the lake (it was her very 1st walk around the lake and around other people) 27 minutes.

I know that it’s not a lot compared to what I used to do, but it’s a start.  It wasn’t a very fast-paced walk either.  Every time we passed by other people, joggers, runners, dogs, cars, or bikes whirring by; Ruby had to stop and stare.  It is a BIG world out there.  Sometimes you need to stop and stare and take it ALL in!


Today’s Word of the Day is:

catawampus- adjective

  1. askew; awry

I have missed creating workouts and words of the day.  I hope you will plan on seeing more of me here!  It may take me awhile to build up to where I was, but I am going to try not to dwell on that.  I am just going to move forward from here.

How have you been?  At least the good news is that it’s friday!  How are your workouts going?  Did anything exciting happen this week?  

What are your favorite exercises to do at home when you are in the midst of a time-crunch?!  Comment below to share your ideas!  I would love to hear them.

Love and Joy Always,

Alana xoxoxo

 Follow my blog with Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Workout and Word of the Day #36

    1. Thanks Paula! That sounds really nice… The thought of things leveling out eventually. Thanks for mentioning that! See?! You always know just the right thing to say to keep me inspired! How are you feeling post-race?

      1. I’ve rested all week, and it’s done me a world of good. I was going to try to run today, but I’ll just resume on Sunday. It gives me a solid week. So let’s cross our fingers for no knee pain!! 😀

      2. I am so glad that you took this week to rest. You’re right, rest is really essential to healing and growth. I will cross my fingers for no knee pain! Have a good weekend! xoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

