Recipe For Disaster

56350e811ca95d2e607890720756a9bb.jpg

I think it started last October when I got a new computer…  This new computer was bigger, better, and faster.  That same night we decided to move the extra comfy couch right in front of my computer.  Is that asking for trouble or what?!  I thought it was unnecessary at the time, but it has become one of my favorite hang-outs.

My “Recipe for Disaster” has become: Netflix and sugar.

1st it was an episode of “Revenge” that got me started that very night right before the holidays.  It was so intriguing, I couldn’t put it down…  Or get up, rather.  I took a break to study, but greeted the new year with episodes of “Atelier” over dinner and a little with dessert.  Then somehow I managed to blow through “Parenthood.”  My favorite past-time became crashing on the couch with dinner and Netflix.  

I had a month-long streak of working out and I think during that time, I was taking a break from shows.  They definitely become addictive and they keep me company.  The other thing that is frightfully comforting is how easy it is to binge-watch and keep going.  “Everything in moderation” right?

I found myself staying in rather than going out (even on sunny days.)  Skipping classes at the gym to stay home.  Definitely choosing take-out rather than dining in.  It is funny how the sedentary lifestyle can take over your life if you allow it to.

I became greedy to find out what would happen next.  Patience may be a virtue, but why wait when the next episode is available with a click of your finger-tips?  I am also amazed with how quickly the seconds, minutes, hours, days, and weeks pass by when you spend it watching shows.  These past two months, I reduced my intake to only watching during meals, but I noticed that the duration of my meals lengthened.  Also, my meals became more frequent.  I would pick up snacks to watch with my favorite show and we all know how that goes.  When you’re in the mode of picking out your favorite snacks, it is easy to give in to all of your addictions and you become de-sensitized.

I admit that I have overindulged in this “recipe for disaster.”  It was fun while it lasted and it helped get me through a rough patch and provided some inspiration, but now I am ready to open up a new chapter in my book.  

I want to create my life rather than sit back, watch and wait for it to happen.  I promise that I am NOT trying to hate on Netflix, snacks, and your favorite dessert.  I just think that they all have their own time and place and in this case 

LESS IS MORE

I think that today qualified as my “rest day.”  Tomorrow is a new day and I am ready to GO TO WORK!!!

On another note, I did get some quality studying in and Ruby and I went for our walk!

Leave a Reply

