Disappointed, Distraught, & Utterly Pissed Off…

WARNING:  This is a rant post.  I will be complaining about a recent event that took place.  I usually like to think of myself as a positive person, but every now and then a situation gets under my skin.  Proceed with caution!

In recently past posts I have been talking about registering for my evening classes and my worries and concerns around the whole process.  I spent at least a month trying to make peace with the fact that my overall schedule would be changing and I would have to sacrifice some sleep, workout classes, and spare time.

Additionally, I spent lots of time carefully going through all the class descriptions and selecting classes that would fit into my schedule.  When registration day rolled around I was ready!… Unfortunately the classes I wanted were full with a long waiting list and the class I wanted the most was completely closed.  That didn’t stop me.  I went in that very day to talk with an academic adviser and together we devised a plan to get me into classes that would work with my schedule.  I was concerned that I was still on waiting lists, but she in addition to many alumni at my school assured me that if I came to class early, prepared, and asked to get into the class that I was sure to get in.  I was 3rd on the waiting list which looked very promising so we ordered my books and I started reading.

Yesterday was the 1st night of the class.  I arrived on campus an hour early to pick up a registration form for my professor to sign and found a spot in the classroom a half hour early.  I couldn’t wait to get started!  The professor introduced himself and took roll and he stated that his policy is: “If a registered student does not show up within the first half hour of the 1st class then they will be cut and people on the waiting list will be added.”  After hearing this I felt fairly optimistic, crossing my fingers and hoping that there would be a place for me in that class…

He finished taking attendance and lo and behold!  3 people were missing.  I was excited because I thought that I had gotten into the class.  I eagerly spoke up and contributed every chance I got and as he dove deeper into the syllabus and class description, my excitement and eagerness to learn increased.  It felt like this was the class that I was meant to be in.  

At 6:31 a girl arrived and the teacher said, ” you made it!”  Then he turned to me and said he was sorry that he had to cut me from the class, but thanked me for showing up.  My heart sank when he said this and I asked if I could still stay.  I stayed and continued to participate.  In the back of my mind I was hoping and praying that after class he would make an exception and let me in!

He gave us a 20 minute break at nearly 8 pm and I asked him if there was any way that I could be added to his class.  He said, “No, but thanks for contributing.”  At that point, I could tell that nothing I could say or do would change his mind…  I was crushed.

I guess I need to work on being more persuasive?  I feel like I did something wrong and now I am back to square one.  I am currently registered for a 4 credit class, but I need a total of 12 credits.  I wish I could be one of those people who just doesn’t take no for an answer and can help things  go their way.  I am especially disappointed because I was really interested in the class content and I bought all of my books.  I guess we got a little over-zealous.

I can feel myself leaning towards pointing the finger and finding ways to blame myself for this outcome, but I know that that will not help me or my situation.  I guess this is an opportunity for me to practice acceptance, letting go, and moving forward.  I will accept my circumstance, let it go, and keep moving forwards towards a solution.  I don’t want to get stuck or hung up on this and I refuse to allow it to bring me down.  I feel like I lost this one, but hopefully I will be winning soon.  I could definitely use some good news.

I spoke with the same adviser earlier this evening and she didn’t have any good news for me either.  Just about every class is full and my only hope is to show up at an evening class and hope that they will let me in.  Wish me luck!  Hopefully I will find a class in time!

Yes, I am disappointed about the fact that I didn’t get the class that I wanted, but maybe it happened for a reason.  I guess time will tell!

Thanks for listening to my rant, my dear darling friends!

Love and Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Disappointed, Distraught, & Utterly Pissed Off…

  1. There was nothing you could do about it. It has nothing to do with being more persuasive, it’s just their policies and procedures that you have to accept. I wish you much luck in finding a different evening class!! Hopefully there’s something you can get in to!

Leave a Reply

