Workout and Word of the Day #40

4f5edb0bb35b373b3ee3d64d9bf07f72

Today I could feel myself fighting with my desire to workout.  The nervous/lazy side of me almost won.  My sister and I had planned on working out together.  Initially we wanted to do an early morning workout, but I texted her last night and asked if we could go at 8:30 rather than 5:30.  Innocent enough, right?  Then around 8 am this morning she texted me and asked if we could sleep in.  I didn’t even need a second to think about that one.  She knocked on my door at 8:17 and suggested that we go anyways, but I was already in super sleep mode and requested that we sleep longer…  At 11:15 we finally managed to head to the gym.  She asked if I wanted to run rather than go to the gym and honestly that sounded less threatening, but I decided to stick with our gym plans.

Today was leg day.  We warmed up for 5 minutes on the rowing machine “urgs”  I knew that I had been inactive for long enough when I felt still from getting off the machine.

Today’s Workout of the Day: LEG DAY!!!

  • 4 x 8 Barbell Squats
  • 4 x 10 Romanian Deadlifts
  • 4 x 12 Barbell Lunges (these were challenging!)
  • 4 x 12 One-legged kettlebell deadlifts
  • 50 calf raises

By the last set of one-legged deadlifts, I felt a little pain behind my right hamstring.  At that point I decided to stop.

I have learned from experience that it is ALWAYS best to listen to your body.  If you feel any pain or something doesn’t quite feel right then stop and take time to assess your movement.  Ask yourself the following questions:

  • Where do I feel pain?  Try to pinpoint the muscle group that is bugging you.
  • How is my technique?  Often times pain can be caused by poor technique.
  • Can I continue the movement in a way that doesn’t irritate the pain?  Try modifying the exercise.  If this does not help then stop.  You don’t want to risk getting injured!

I decided that my pain could have been from not warming up enough.  Or from doing a different warm-up from what my body is used to.  I usually warm-up with 5 minutes on the treadmill.  Next time I will try that.  I also know that I have been neglecting my stretching.  I think this is the perfect time to get back in to stretching.


Word of the Day:

declension- noun

  1. the inflectional forms of a noun, pronoun, or adjective.
  2. a falling off or away: deterioration
  3. descent; slope

Today I also committed to eating clean once again.  Yesterday I had a “last hurrah” with sushi for lunch and pizza for dinner.  Today I have replaced my coffee with green tea .  For Breakfast my sister made is strawberry, kale, greek yogurt smoothies.  And I made us black bean burritos piled high with baby kale and mixed greens.  I know that eating clean will help me feel and look better.

I have been fighting my urge to stress out about everything that is going on in my life right now.  I already feel behind with my stats class and I am going in to my music classes already a week behind.  Today will be my first day of choir and I am super nervous.  Wish me luck!  My voice doesn’t work well when I allow my nervousness to take over so I better take Ruby for a walk and practice some deep breathing.

A little while ago I worked out in the garden and that helped me feel a little more calm.  What are your tricks to deal with stress and nervousness?  Comment below to share your ideas, I would LOVE to hear them!

I hope you are having a lovely day my Dear Darling Friends!!!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

Alana xoxoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Workout and Word of the Day #40

Leave a Reply

