Workout and Word of the Day #46

It takes a tremendous amount of work and discipline to become a fit and fabulous woman.  That is my goal and once I get there I think that I would much rather maintain it than have to keep starting over.

I had a good day overall, but the swimming pool feels like it is getting hotter and hotter everyday.  At least, the air feels a lot thicker.  During the break between classes I did a mini ab workout that consisted of holding a 1 minute plank, reverse crunches, crunches, and some side crunches.I am glad that I have time to fit in these mini workouts.

In spinning, two students presented their spin projects where they lead a workout of 4 songs.  It is fun because we get to hear some of their favorite songs.  I think my favorite song of the day was: “Living on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi

Now that I am helping the school athletic trainer train for her triathlon 3 days a week I usually only get to spin twice a week so I do my best to work up a sweat and make those workouts count.

By the time I got home from work, I was feeling pretty worn out.  I think the heat is getting to me.  Have you been drinking enough water?  I think I have been doing better with my water consumption.  I love my lemon water and just started adding a slice of cucumber.  It really gives it a nice twist of flavor!  Give it a try!

Today’s Workouts of the Day: Kettle-bell Circuit!!!

It was supposed to be shoulder day, but since I decided to take yesterday off; I decided to work my whole body!

  • 10 Lunges with a Twist
  • 12 Squat and Press
  • 12 Kettle-bell Swing
  • 12 Halos
  • 12 Chops
  • 12 Windmills

*Repeat this circuit 3 times!!!

I love kettle-bell workouts because they are a functional and effective way to get a good resistance workout and get my heart pumping at the same time!


Word of the Day:

Obviate- verb

  1. to anticipate and prevent or eliminate(difficulties, disadvantages, etc.) by effective measures; render unnecessary: to obviate the risk of serious injury

I need to apply this word of the day to my current situation.  I feel myself stressing and worrying about the future and wondering what I will do in 4 months from now…  What I need to do is focus on the present and what I am doing right here and NOW.

Maybe I use my worries about the future as a distraction from what I am currently going through.  I want to stop that so that I can be more present and effective in my everyday life.  Some people function optimally when they are stressed and under pressure and I don’t think that I am one of those people.  I need to give myself enough time to learn things thoroughly and organically.

I will be the first to admit that I do not like not knowing what’s going on because it makes me feel like I am out of control and that makes me feel powerless.  I think I need to turn this mentality upside down and start focusing on the things that I do have control over like the choices that I make and the chances that I take.  

I am afraid of the changes that are about to take place in the near future.  I like living in my home town because it is familiar, comfortable, and feels safe.  The thought of venturing out even for the summer just to have to return in the fall for school sounds complicated and slightly terrifying.  I observed my thought process all day and he way that my mind kept turning and swirling–imagining all the things that could go wrong…  BUT there is a chance that things could go right and REALLY right if I allow them to.  The change could be a grand adventure and another opportunity for growth.  We might as well do it all while we are young.  And young, we certainly are.  Let’s go all in and be YOUNG, WILD, and FREE.

How do you feel about moving?  Does it make you nervous?  Do you have any tips on letting go and decluttering?

Love, Joy, and Blessings always,

Alana Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

