When You Stop Growing It’s Time to GET GOING!

“When you stop growing.  It’s time to Get Going.”

I created this phrase for myself in October of 2013 when I decided to move on from the swim team that I had coached for 3 years.  It was a hard decision for me to make because this team had helped me grow in so many ways and felt like my family.  They helped me get started and the other coaches taught me well.

I was offered my dream coaching position and the opportunity to work with my former coach and mentor.  That’s when I decided, “When you stop growing it is time to get going.”

Then there was my last job that I worked for over two years.  I enjoyed it and it was my first experience of being a head swim coach.  When I first started working full-time early in my position, I was offered a position in management by the owner of the club.  I was so thrilled to have this opportunity extended to me, but when I asked to be trained for the position; my immediate manager said she wasn’t filling it.  Then she ended up giving that position to someone else who had no swimming experience.  That’s when I realized I had hit another dead end.  I stopped growing so it was time to get going.

I have enjoyed working in my current position, but it is also in aquatics.  When I looked at the payscale I think it projected that in 5 years I could make $15 an hour.  It is nice to have kickass health insurance, but the wage that I have been making is barely live-able.  I clearly need to get myself out of the aquatics industry and acquire more practical skills.  that is a big reason why I want to study computer science.

I received grants for school so I am going to take the plunge and go to school full-time in the fall.  I have a lot of work and catching up that I need to do over the summer before the fall hits and I am ready to take on this challenge.  

This is both exciting and terrifying!!!  I feel blessed to be afforded this golden opportunity and I don’t want to let it go to waste.  I am so used to always working lots of jobs to make ends meet, but I need to focus on school and learning, and keep my eyes on the prize.  

So if you are in the middle of making a HUGE life decision remember to say to your self, “When I stop growing it is time to get going!!!”

20160526_173449

Leave a Reply

