Transform Your Life Project: # 26 and 27

Week 26:

The past week is a little blurry to me, but I felt like I was on Cloud 9 for more than half of it!  On Monday through Friday I started my day with oil pulling.  I used a spoonful of coconut oil and swished around for 20 minutes before brushing my teeth.

10 Benefits of Oil Pulling:

  1. Removes toxins.
  2. Improves oral health.
  3. Increases energy.
  4. Balances hormones.
  5. Lessen jaw pain.
  6. Improves skin condition.
  7. Helps Headaches and Hangovers.
  8. Boosts immune system.
  9. Prevents heart disease.
  10. Reduces inflammation.

Oil Pull in 5 Steps:

  1. Put 1-2 teaspoons of oil into the mouth.
  2. Swish for 20 minutes.
  3. Spit the oil in a trash can.  It can clog drains.
  4. Rinse well with warm water.
  5. Brush well.

*I just want to remind everyone that I am not a doctor or medical professional.  These are just tips that I am trying out to improve my oral health.*

After oil pulling and taking care of our two cats and the dog; I started my day with a youtube yoga video.  I think this was a great way to wake up my body and my senses.  I felt a lot more centered and energetic throughout my day when I did this.

I took Ruby for walks and did an at-home workout when we returned.  It felt great to move my body.

One thing that I have noticed is that when my boyfriend is home during the weekend I have a pattern of forgoing my yoga and oil pulling.  I missed my yoga workouts on Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday and I felt a dramatic change in myself.  I felt more restless and in pain.  I think it could also be attributed to the fact that our household is in transition again.  Our month-long geologist roommate finished his month with us this week and took off to work in the field so we have been busy with perspective tenant interviews.  It is definitely a process to find the right individuals to rent your home to.  I think we found the right people as of yesterday.  2 days ago we moved back into our master suite.

I have noticed that transitions and big changes definitely have a way of throwing me off my game.  That’s okay, I just need to get back on track!  I really like the new set-up in our room and I am getting better at making quick changes, but could still use some improvement.

I also reunited with my friend Phuong and we started running.  I ran on Thursday with her for the 1st time and on Friday we went for a long walk.  We made plans to go to Zumba that evening and she encouraged me to wear shorts.  I was a little daunted by that idea because it has been a long time since I have felt comfortable in shorts.  I shopped around and found some “zumba shorts” that fit and can also serve as running shorts!  Zumba was an absolute BLAST!

One thing I do have to say is that I felt super-emotional and sad throughout week 26.  I have a lot to be thankful for, but I am healing from my past and this is that time of year…


Week 27:

On Monday of this week, I started nice and early and went for a 6:30 am run!  We ran on Monday, Tuesday, Rested on Wednesday, then Thursday, and today.  Running helps me feel powerful and strong.  I want to maintain this habit and carry it over to the school year this fall.  

Developing new habits is not an easy process most days it is challenging for me to get out of a warm bed next to somebody that I love, but I do it because I have goals and a system of accountability in place.  The timing is perfect!  I want to establish a good workout habit and clean up my eating before I start school in the fall.

I know…  It feels like I have been saying that all year long, but this time I really want to commit to it.  It is ALL about exercising WILLPOWER.  At least I know that if I have any quality at all; I do have TENACITY!

July Goals:

It is a new month and I think I still need another month to work on the goals that I set for June so I am going to carry over those goals to this month.  Here they are!

July:

Love Thyself Then Spread the Love

  • Take time for self-care.
  • Learn to be Confident.
  • Nurture your relationships
  • Seek inspiration
  • De-clutter

The halfway point of the month is a great time to turn things around!  I have been feeling down and emotional, but now I want to focus on the positive and all the good things that I want from life.  Time is precious and it is time to make it count!

What are your summer goals?  Comment below to share them!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

 

5 thoughts on “Transform Your Life Project: # 26 and 27

  1. I particularly like this transform your life project…the one blog at a time kind of structure you’re using to express your thoughts and motivate others.
    Keep up 🙂

Leave a Reply

