Daily Prompt:ELUSIVE

Happiness can be flitting and elusive.

“Happiness is like a butterfly: the more you chase it, the more it will elude you; but if you turn your attention to other things, it will come and sit softly on your shoulder.”  -Henry Thoreau

Sometimes this feels like the story of my life.  To me it sounds like “misplaced effort.”  We often chase the things that feel the most important to us.  I chase the comfort of home and being able to sit and watch my favorite netflix show (that would NOT have been me a couple of years ago).

A couple of years ago I spent as much time as I could with my boyfriend when realistically it might have been better for me to do other things, like get more sleep.    I would work long days and so would he and we would spend time together sometimes into the late night.  He would often be coding and I would hangout and keep him company then I would wake up super early to go to work the next day.  Maybe the time we spent together payed off in the long run because we years later, we are still together.

Not everything works out so wonderfully.  I guess the point I am trying to make is that we make time for the things that are most important to us.

Do what you MUST and happiness will come into your life.

Elusive

One thought on “Daily Prompt:ELUSIVE

Leave a Reply

