Transform Your Life Project: #43

Hello My Dear Darling Friends!

What’s new?!?!  This week was mid-term week and I was feeling completely unprepared and overwhelmed because I have fallen behind. I have started talking with my Dear Friend Tara and she has agreed to be my accountability buddy for eating clean and getting healthy.  We have a daily check-in call at 7:30 pm and we talk about how our day went and the good, the bad, and the ugly when it comes to nutrition, energy, and workouts.  It has helped me tremendously to have a friend to talk with about everything that I am going through.

My friend Tara is amazing!  She has lost nearly 200 pounds in 1 year and 4 months and she did it solely by healthy eating.  Another nice thing is that Tara is  a middle school math teacher and she has given me some study tips.

One of my biggest challenges in my studies has been my ability to focus and stay engaged in the material.  I have taken a combination of Christopher and Tara’s advice and have started using timers.  I study for 20 minutes.  Then take a 2 minute break.  then study for 20 minutes and then take a  12 minute break.  This helps me to have spurts of concentrated focus.  My rules for myself are that I cannot visit other websites and I need to save activities like going to the bathroom and also brewing myself another cup of tea for my breaks.  So far it has helped me.  Because anyone can stay in one place for at least 20 minutes.  Even Me!!!

Another thing that has helped me tremendously is making to-do-lists then checking off my tasks: My To-Do-List!

Making a physical list then blogging about it and being able to update and check tasks off my list has helped me to stay accountable.  I am also encouraged by your support!

What went wrong?!?!  This week has been better than most, but I am still a little behind with school work.  Also, I got a little stranded today so I missed class.  I am just doing my very best to hang in there and stick with it.

Also, I was on a role with my healthy eating, but yesterday I slipped up.  I met my parents for lunch at Olive Garden and ordered shrimp fettucine and did not turn down breadsticks.  I also had pizza for breakfast today…  I guess I just need to remember that I am taking baby steps.  I want to establish good habits and I want those good habits to last so I won’t flip out over the fact that I derailed a little.

What’s Good?!?!  Well, I was not an emotional wreck so that was refreshing.  I think I have started to actively take action and that has helped me to combat all of my stress and anxiety.  Also being active, exercising, and eating healthy has also made a tremendous difference in my overall well-being.

I have really been enjoying my Workout and Word of the Day Workouts!  I also gave up coffee last Monday and stuck with it all week!  It was not without temptation.  There were a couple of days where I struggled and desperately wanted a latte, but I did not give in.  Yesterday was the 1st day that  I felt like being coffee-free did not affect me.

I think that after today I am going to give up flour and sugar (with the exception of my new workout supplements).  This week was high on the carbs: sushi galore, pasta, pizza, bread.  It’s time to make a change!

I was super excited because my Unico Supplements arrived this week!  I think more than anything I love the packaging.  And the flavors are so delicious maybe even too sweet, but I’m not complaining.

October has been a big month of growth for me.  It has been a whirlwind and I can hardly believe that it is almost over.  I think I have done a good job with this month’s goals.

October

Pay Attention

  • Meditate
  • Examine true rules
  • Stimulate the mind in new ways

I get to spend the rest of the day at home and I can tell that the cleanliness of our home could use a little TLC.  Also, my boyfriend is out at an important business meeting so I think as soon as I finish writing this post; I will write this week’s To-Do-List then do some cleaning so that he can come back to a clean home.

It is nearly 4 pm so I better get to work.  I’m glad we got to catch up!

Have a lovely rest of your week and I will talk to you soon!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

2 thoughts on “Transform Your Life Project: #43

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post, Alana. I feel very much related to it.
    It is for me also difficult to eat clean all the time. Especially with my boyfriend loving fast food… I try to make huge batches of bolognese sauce and other types of foods and sauces that I can freeze. On lazy days I bust them out and eat it with Konjac noodles or zucchini noodles. I also love to make “pizza” eggplants. I know Cassey has a recipe with cauliflower, but that’s a bit bitter after a while. With Eggplant and Zucchini it tastes a bit softer. I just cut them in slices, put some bolognese sauce on top with cheese and mushrooms or basil in the oven. It tastes lovely with rucola salad!

    1. Hi Sarah!
      I can definitely relate to you too. My boyfriend and I stay up late and have historically eaten lots of junk food so this is a big lifestyle change. I like your idea of making large batches of bolognese sauce and freezing it. What an excellent time saver! I also want to try your eggplant pizzas. Thanks for all the ideas Sarah!

Leave a Reply

