Beautifully Broken / Tricky Business

Navigating through adulthood is tricky business!  I remember coming home (after my abusive relationship) like it was just yesterday…  At the same time, the girl that I was back then is beginning to feel more like a distant stranger and in this case, that is a good thing!

I had just turned 22 and was a survivor.  I still had to look over my shoulder and take things a day-at-a time…  At the time, my teenage days were not far behind and I was at the beginning of my journey of self-discovery and re-inventing myself.  What do you do with all the broken pieces of your life?

You call yourself “Beautifully Broken” then pick up all the pieces and create a Beautiful Mosaic out of your life.  It sounds simpler than it is, but it is a journey worth embarking on.  A battle worth fighting.  Fears worth facing and conquering.  You can do it!  YOU ARE WORTH-IT!!!

At 22 I slipped easily into coaching swim team.  Swimming was one of my lifelong passions and being at the pool and around the swimmers kept me young.  Even if you were older than your colleagues, most of the time, your managers still treated you like you were in highschool and you did your best to blend in with all those youngins at the pool.  It was a life I loved, but after doing almost every pool related job for over 5 years, including running my own swim team, I realized that I was ready to move on from the pool and acquire some new skills!

It didn’t occur to me until just last year, that I was a full-fledged adult and should begin doing adult things.  Teaching P.E. at a highschool helped me realize this.  Adulting is tricky business!  There are real-life problems to solve, bills, to pay, and still so much to learn!

I am blessed that my partner and I found each other and can tackle this crazy-world together.  He has helped me tremendously in all aspects of my life and inspires me to be even better than I am.  Our relationship and his encouragement to “leave the past in the past” has helped me to escape the nightmare of my past life.  

So here I am…  Two years shy of 30 and in my 2nd year of college.  After years of working multiple jobs, struggling day-to-day, and barely getting by; I finally have the luxury of being a full-time student.  Frankly, I think I semi-blew-it this 1st half of the quarter.  There was just so much going on with moving to New Zealand and figuring everything out…  But now I really and truly want to redeem myself in this 2nd half of the quarter.

Thank you for listening to this tid-bit of “My Story.”

Your encouragement, support, and prayers are greatly appreciated!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

 

Leave a Reply

