Workout and Word of the Day: #77

Saturdays are bittersweet because I can feel the end of the weekend drawing near…

So far this weekend has not been productive for me at all and it is already Sunday.  I did go to my African Brazilian Dance class this morning and once I got there I was glad that I went.  As a whole it has kind of been like pulling teeth to get me to go and stay on campus.  My anxiety is still at an all-time-high because I still feel a little lost in my Computer Science class.  We are already past mid-terms and I want to make the best of it.

I think for the rest of this year (2016) one of my biggest focuses is going to be:

SHOW UP and BE PRESENT.

I am finally tired of my own excuses. I have had a lot going on in the past 2 months… Travelling abroad, illness, starting school.  Life keeps going no matter what..  Good days.  Bad days.  I cannot control what happens, but I can decide how I respond to everything that happens.

Workout of the Day: Samba, Orixe, Samba Reggae, & Kettle-bell training

In my Afro-Brazilian Dance class we started by laying on our backs and being aware of our movement.  We analyzed how our bodies roll and later on our instructor explained how it transfers to dance.

Right before we started dancing, our instructor asked me to walk across the dance floor as she analyzed and described my walk to the class.  Then she said that she wanted me to demonstrate today because I have a beautiful walk.  I was very flattered and it meant a lot to me coming from her because she is a Samba Goddess.

We practiced Samba, Orixe, and Samba Reggae.  

Upper Body Kettle-bell Workout:

  • 3 x 8 Military Presses
  • 3 x 6 Lat Pulls
  • 3 x 8 Bent-arm Pullover
  • 3 x 6 See-saw Presses
  • 2 x 7 Windmills
  • 2 x 6 Renegade Rows
  • 3 x 6 Side Presses
  • 3 x 6 French Press
  • 18 Push-ups

Word of the Day:

hallowed- adjective

  1. Regarded as venerated; sacred; holy

We have reached the final day of the weekend and I am going to do my best to make today count!

Do you have any fun  plans for today?  Comment below to share your fun plans!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

