Break the Cycle: Netflix and Chill

You had been around for years, but I never payed much attention…

You were all the rage for years, but you never impressed me much…

Never ever the focal-point of my life and never a desire-able past-time…

It started last November, nearly a year ago when the love of my life and I had to work in different cities.

First it was “Revenge” then shortly after “Parenthood.”  Two subject matters that never interested me before! But somehow I managed to complete full seasons (and every ice cream sandwich in the land).

What was happening to me?  Had I become one of those, “Netflix and chill” kind of people?  That had never been me before. And what in the World was an “Atelier?”  Well, on New Years Eve I decided to find out!

New Girls… And I finally started to watch “Gilmore Girls.”  At first it felt a little slow, but I made it a point to revisit it sporadically…  then it grew on me…  then pretty soon I was hooked…  Still am hooked…

I gave up facebook and Instagram a year ago, but it just occurred to me that I replaced it with a “Netflix and chill” kind of lifestyle…

I’m not complaining.  Just an observation :).

You served your purpose and then some… You kept me company.  Kept me engaged.  Gave me something to look forward to.  We laughed.  We cried.  We celebrated.  We experienced the full range of emotions…  And all that delicious food!  Cheeseburgers and fries.  Chinese food.  Mac and Cheese.  Pizza.  Dessert.   Ice cream.  Hot chocolate.  Yum Yum.  And I had the expanding figure to show it, but it felt like I was never alone.  I had my own special imprint on our big fluffy couch.

And now…  You have become a lifestyle to me.  I plan my meals around you and look forward to them.  Snack and late-night munchies have become necessity.  We have “his and hers computers” directly across from each other and I rock out to your episodes.

I think I have taken it a little too far because last night one of the bratty teens in the sitcom infiltrated my dreams.

It’s time to make a change!  I have to start making progress with my :

To-Do-List

I don’t want to miss out on my favorite time of year because I spend the entire time in front of the screen.  I don’t want to shed a tear over the end of a season then have withdrawals from missing my sitcom friends.

I used  to hate those: “Dinner and a movie dates” or the whole “Netflix and Chill” scene because I preferred getting out and doing things.

I am glad that I finally got to see the light and realize that time passes much more quickly when you have all the seasons of “Friends” to keep you company, but I have decided here and early on this Thanksgiving break that I will break my cycle of procrastination.  I want to get $hit done and check things off my list and I’ll be checking it twice.

I will take a break from Netflix won’t be naughty, just Nice!

My exception will be sitting on the stationary bike.  Alright, it’s time to make a change!

Happy Friday my Dear Darling Friends!

Love, Joy, Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

NaBloPoMo November 2016

Leave a Reply

