Transform Your Life Project: #51

Hello My Dear Darling Friends!

We are swiftly approaching the end of 2016.  Are you ready for Christmas?  Have you started organizing your life in preparation for the new year?  Perhaps organization is already a way of life for you.  If so, then I would like to congratulate you!  Living an organized life is truly admirable.

I spent about a week feeling stressed about the fact that my boyfriend and I have been staying up all night and sleeping during weird hours in the day.  At one point I finally decided to shift my paradigm and remind myself that I was choosing to stay awake because I could.  There is something liberating about not having to stick to a regimented schedule.  At the same time, I do not think it is a lifestyle that I would continue all the time and everyday…  Unless of course I start working for myself.  It would be a dream come true to be able to work from home!

I felt a little down at the beginning of the week and decided to turn things around by reading Marie Kondo’s book: “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up”.  She is an inspiring author who encourages everyone to only keep the things that bring them joy around the house.  I really like her approach to organization and I would like to continue following her approach.

This week I also felt like we took great strides forward in our relationship.  My boyfriend and I have both been working together to create a healthy and uplifting relationship dynamic.  It has been quite the learning process for me to learn how to love and trust another.  For years I shut out other people because I was so afraid of being hurt.  I still notice times when I feel very insecure and sometimes even jealous.  I don’t like this about myself, but I do know that insecurity and jealousy are closely connected.  I am working on improving myself so that I can be more confident and less insecure.

I have been spending a lot of time with my Mom which has been wonderful.  A year ago she got her hip replacement and now a year later, she has made a full recovery!  We have been working together to organize my garage.

Yesterday we made a dump run then bought my Christmas tree!

20161217_163648
I think I found “the one!”

I can’t wait to show you our fully decked Christmas tree!!!

I haven’t been doing well with my workouts.  I think the cold weather has made it more challenging to feel motivated.  I have been loving the beautiful snow.  I guess every situation has its silver lining!  I know that I will be picking up my workout habit again real soon and I hope you will join me :).

I was supposed to have a Christmas Cookie making party this Saturday, but it fell through because my friends have either moved away, had other plans, or were sick.  I was looking forward to it because my Christmas cookie making party from last year was a definite highlight.  Christopher and I bought all the ingredients and I was all ready…

I was going to wait until one of my friends could come over when today Christopher said he would make cookies with me!  I felt truly touched and am looking forward to making cookies with him <3.  My cookie dough is chilling as we speak!

Here are some pics from last years’ Christmas cookie making party:

What else happened this week?  Well, I got registered for my Winter Quarter class which begins on January 9th.  I think I have made up my mind.  I am going to take a break from computer science classes at the college.  This does NOT mean that I have given up on Computer Science.  I was so stressed by the pace of class so I have decided to study and catch up on my own at home to build my confidence.  Then I will return, but I promise myself and everyone else that I am NOT giving up!  I am taking a program called: “Dancing Bodies, Dancing Molecules.”  It says that it will combine biology, chemistry, and dance.  I am looking forward to it.

This evening, I recommitted myself to learning more about computers and I picked out some Udemy online courses.  Have any of you ever taken any udemy courses?  If so, what did you think?  I will keep you updated on my studies!  Right now Udemy is offering a holiday special where most courses cost $15.  That is a steal considering the fact that they usually cost $195-$200!

I think this is a perfect time to review my December goals:

December

Organize Your Life

  • Plan ahead and prepare
  • Set goals
  • Dream BIG
  • Sleep at night
  • Get an early start

This week I am going to spend more time planning a project for 2017.  What kind of project do you think I should do?  Comment below to share your ideas!  I hope this will be a wonderful week for you!  Thank you for stopping by!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

Alana Xoxoxo

11 thoughts on “Transform Your Life Project: #51

  1. Yes you go girl! Sounds like you have many great projects going on already, I would recommend completing the main goals in your life right now, like the ones you have listed, before you take on the next challenges 🙂 I have got a free course on making and achieving goals all lined up in the New Year, so feel free to check it out soon!

    1. Hi Jess! I agree! It is a good idea to focus on these current goals :). I am looking forward to taking your course in the New Year :). I hope you will have a Very Merrry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
      ❤ Alana

  2. I loved reading this post :). What you say about being jealous and not liking that about yourself… I actually feel the same way. I always have to tell myself different reasons why I shouldn’t be jealous… The thing is, I always try so hard. I especially try hard to please others, to do what is expected from me. But I guess that makes me boring and predictable. So my resolution this year is to do what I want to, and do what I’m good at and especially give myself more credit. Because in the end, you’re jealous because somewhere you felt like you failed. And at that moment, you should think about what you do have and what you have accomplished,…

    1. I can relate to you in so many ways, my dear. I have tried hard to please others and live up to the expectations of others.
      I don’t think it is bad to try hard. I do think that it is a matter of carefully choosing where we focus our efforts. And also who we choose to spend our time with. I spent too much time caring about people who could care less or were ungrateful. Those experiences helped me to differentiate that group of people from those who really appreciated my efforts.
      My heart truly goes out to you <3. I have been the girl who is too nice and tries too hard and feels boring and too predictable. I would like to join you in your resolution to focus on YOU.
      I don't think it is selfish to work hard on bettering yourself, strengthening your weaknesses and capitalizing on your strengths.
      We got this! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your kind comments.
      ❤ Alana

Leave a Reply

