Transform Your Life Project 2.0

TRANSFORM YOUR LIFE PROJECT 2.0:

Hello My Dear Darling Friends!

Welcome to the New Year!!!  2016 was full of so many highs and lows that by the end of it I was MORE than ready to ring in the new year.  There is something so fresh and exciting about the beginning of a new year.  It is having a clean slate.  A blank canvas.  A fresh start with a world of endless possibilities.

It has become a tradition of mine  to create a project at the beginning of each year.  I did a Happiness Project 2 years in a row in which I set goals and moved towards a lifestyle that would bring me happiness.  At the end of the 2nd year I decided that in order to truly pursue happiness; there were some big life changes that I would need to make.

Last year I created my “Transform Your Life Project” in which I chose an area of my life to focus on each month.  At the end of every week I wrote a summative  blog post which helped to hold me accountable.  I think this last project was the most successful because I stuck with it and consistently visited my goals.  In the past I usually started out strongly then fell off the wagon.  I know that I could not have done it without the encouragement, love and support that I got from all of YOU.  So I want to thank you, my readers, from the bottom of my heart for being my inspirations!!!

I really appreciate the overall self-awareness that I gained from working through my project last year.  For awhile I was thinking of creating a different project, but I enjoyed the “Transform Your Life Project” so much that I am going to do it again with a little bit of a spin.

This year I will do a “Transform Your Life Project 2.0”


2.0 definition- used to denote a superior or more advanced version of an original concept, product, service, etc.

I sure like the sound of that.  So it will be like last years project, but WAYYY Better!!!

The overall theme of this years’ project is going to be:

KNOW THYSELF

It honestly terrifies me to remember the fact that I am approaching 30 and I still struggle with lack of confidence, self-esteem, and self-worth.  I struggled with sexual assault, domestic violence, ptsd, and all the issues that accompany that realm from the age of 17 and it wasn’t until the past 2 years that I finally reached a point in my life where I was not constantly in crisis.  I love the fact that the girl I once was is starting to feel more and more like a distant stranger.  I have recently started to embrace the fact that I am a survivor and have developed a strong desire to leave the past in the past.

Even so, I still live with many insecurities and doubts.  I want to spend this year becoming strong and confident in who I am.


January: 

Build My Foundation

  • A Girls  gotta get her beauty sleep!(this applies to you guys too!).
  • Eliminate Distractions (less Netflix & Games).
  • Create a healthy routine.
  • Plan your track and track your plan (keep a food journal).
  • Eat Clean.
  • Do What you must.
  • Create Healthier Habits.

February:

Focus On Faith

  • Learn about faith.
  • Count my blessings.
  • Actively build my confidence.
  • Believe in myself.

March:

Meditation and Mindfulness

  • Meditate.
  • Breathe Deeply.
  • Practice Yoga.
  • Sing.
  • Begin Spring Cleaning.

April:

Challenge Yourself

  • Do what you must and do it with ALL your heart.
  • Learn a new language and/or expand on what you have learned so far.
  • Train a little harder.
  • Wake up a little earlier for an early start.

May:

Mix It Up!

  • Get creative.
  • Re-organize your life.
  • Paint Something.
  • Do something you’ve never done before.
  • Go on an adventure!

June:

Make Time For Family and Friends

  • Write letters.
  • Remember birthdays.
  • Be Generous.
  • Be Present.
  • Don’t Gossip.

July:

Love Thyself Then Spread the Love

  • Take time for self-care.
  • Learn to be Confident.
  • Nurture your relationships.
  • Seek inspiration.
  • De-clutter.
  • Bring out the BEST in others.

August

Remember Love

  • Quit nagging.
  • Listen.
  • Cultivate healthy relationships.
  • No Dumping.
  • Give proofs of love.

September

Pursue a Passion

  • Create a Bucket list (my year truly begins in the fall).
  • Make time.
  • Forget about the results.
  • Master a new technology.

October

Pay Attention

  • Hone in focus.
  • Examine true rules.
  • Stimulate the mind in new ways.

November

Keep a Contented Heart

  • Laugh out loud.
  • Use good manners.
  • Give positive reviews.
  • Find an area of refuge.

December

Organize Your Life

  • Plan ahead and prepare.
  • Set goals.
  • Dream BIG.
  • Sleep at night.
  • Get an early start.

I am excited to begin this new project!  I have been thinking about it for awhile.  I know that I need to make some major changes in my life and I was daunted by the task of planning it out.  I am happy that I was able to write something out in time for the new year!!!  Come join me on this project it will be fun!  What are your hopes, goals, and dreams for the new year?  Comment below to tell me all about it.  Remember that we are in this together!!!  We got this and we are UNSTOPPABLE!!!!

Let’s make  2017 the best year yet!!!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

❤ Alana Xoxoxo

26 thoughts on “Transform Your Life Project 2.0

  1. This is a super ambitious schedule! I’m looking forward to your progress. I’m afraid I didn’t have a specific plan laid out. For 2017:
    – I’d like to work on myself, becoming stronger and more independent. Even if this means setting more money aside. I learned this year that at the end of the day you have to take of yourself. I learned that because I was running around to help everyone, I forgot myself. And when it came down to it, they weren’t there for me.
    – I need to start being more active and this will only work if I do things I LOVE. So I’ll be taking belly dancing classes starting this Thursday aside from the Ballroom dancing!
    – I will find more time doing things I like. I’d need to spend less time to useless pass time like playing games… I will also take singing classes to strengthen my skills.
    I think that’s about my list. Because if the list grew longer, I wouldn’t be able to stick with it. But I always admire people who can. So I can’t wait to read about your progress and support you in your journey!
    xoxo Sarah

    1. Hi Sarah!

      I like your approach to goal setting! You are definitely a giver who goes above and beyond for the people that you care about. That is a beautiful thing. It bothers me that people don’t always appreciate it and even less reciprocate. I have been there too… And still am in some ways. I am happy to hear that you are going to make YOU a priority this year. You are worth-it!!!
      Stronger and more independent. I am with you there!
      It’s awesome that you’re a dancer! I love dancing also. Those are the BEST workouts the ones that don’t even feel like work, yet bring you so much joy!!! I am impressed that you are a belly dancer. That is such an amazing workout!
      I also want to work on prioritizing my life. I spent a lot of time being distracted and kind of slacking. It honestly was a nice little break, but it is definitely time to get back to work!
      Thank you for supporting me on my journey. I know that I wrote a lofty list that is based on many ideals. I don’t know if I will be able to do it all, but I will at least try!
      This is going to be a great year Sarah! I can tell :). I am looking forward to supporting you too on your journey!!!

      Lots of Love,

      ❤ Alana

  2. Hey Alana! Quite a list. It’s been great talking with you in the past so here’s my shpiel for 2017:
    – I looked at my self today in the mirror and did not like what I saw…I think I was in the gym twice in all of December, mostly due to studying/defending my exams, end of semester grading, the mind-numbing cold (including two days when it did not get above -10 degrees) and spending all of last week traveling/at a convention, and now I’m at my parents’ place and eating pretty much everything that I shouldn’t be eating, including stress eating because the school year is coming up so soon. I’ll be back at home on Sunday night, and hopefully in addition to giving my poor apartment a much needed cleaning, I’ll be able/inspired to exercise more and eat better.
    – DANCE. I was pretty good this past fall about going to dance class every Tuesday and Thursday, and doing some social dancing and/or extra dance classes on weekends. Might add a dance class on Wednesdays, since Monday nights are reserved for meetings and Fridays for resting.
    – As far as eating…do I haaaave to do a food journal? I keep an exercise journal on my phone, but for some reason, I’ve tried to start a food journal several times but I’ve always stopped because it felt silly and eating became a chore. I’d much rather just try to actively focus on making healthier food choices rather than record items and amounts. (maybe that falls under do what you must?)
    – I cannot Netflix any less because I’m one of the nine people on Planet Earth who does not have Netflix or any sort of streaming service other than Amazon Prime, which I rarely use anyway, but I probably watch too many YouTube videos, and as far as games, I feel like I could play less, but they’re really not taking away too much from other areas of my daily life, like, I don’t do that while I’m working or studying, just when I am walking somewhere, or waiting somewhere, or just general down time. I could definitely stand to use Facebook less; not that I post all that much (usually, just my weekly crossword puzzle solving times, and I use Goodreads to post what I read), but no more mindless news feed scrolling. Even though again, I might be failing as a social media user here, but I’ve never had a Twitter or Instagram and don’t plan to start, so I’ve already conquered (?) those potential addictions? whateveridklol.
    And now it’s 1:30 am here on the East Coast, so off catch myself up on some of your other blog posts.

    1. Hi Jacob!

      I hope you had a Very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! I have always admired you and considered you to be a top scholar. You are ambitious, hard-working, and have a lot on your plate so I totally understand that life would get hectic and stressful. Plus it sounds like you have been working with kids. I do enjoy kids, but anytime you are an educator, you are expected to perform and be on your game. It is demanding and amazing work and I think they are lucky to have you!

      I can relate to you because I am totally a stress eater and cope with food. I think in a recent post I wrote that “food is my comfort and my joy.” The holidays are such an easy time to eat everything in sight because there is so much good food around. I was definitely eating too much and have always struggled with balancing my nutrition. So far, this year, I have done a good job and it has been empowering! I might end up falling off the wagon once school starts next week, but I am going to try to get back on each time.

      Thanks for sharing your goals with me!!!

      Eating – I say, DO WHAT WORKS FOR YOU :). I agree, keeping a food journal can be daunting and time consuming so if you have found a system that works then that’s fantastic!

      I just realized that I am commenting on your goals out of order… oops.

      The way you look -Know that you are amazing no matter what stage of life you are at. I can relate to this also because I don’t like the way that I look either and being in school as an older student makes me feel even more self-conscious. The beautiful thing is that we can choose to change Anytime. They don’t have to be huge momentous changes, just small steps to get you closer to where you want to be. Do things that you enjoy like DANCE! Oh and by the way, I didn’t go to the gym either in November or December. I think the mind-numbing cold makes it hard to exist and feel motivated to do Anything. When I was working out more consistently before the holidays hit, I was having fun with Youtube workout videos that I could do at home. I started with Blogilates and decided that I might like https://www.fitnessblender.com/
      more because you can play your own music.
      I think you can consider yourself lucky that you don’t have Netflix or other streaming services. One episode easily turns into entire seasons. I also started to fall in love with eating while watching Netflix which is Dangerous. lol.
      It sounds like you have a good amount of discipline when it comes to work and study and that is a GREAT thing! I am still working on that.
      And you have definitely conquered potential addictions by not having Twitter or Insagram. That’s a victory in and of itself.

      I think you have set great goals! You got this!!! I hope I didn’t seem too preachy here.

      You have a demanding schedule so make sure that you set aside some “you time” and do things that bring you joy!

      I hope that 2017 will be an absolutely Amazing year for you, Jacob! I am rooting for you!!!

      ❤ Alana

      1. Thanks Alana! I’ve been using an app called Lee Labrada’s Lean Body 12-Week Daily Trainer. I actually did the first two weeks full out, that is, 14 straight days at the gym in November, and then I did the first 5 days of week 3 intermittently around the end of November/beginning of December. So I’m up to Day 20, out of 84. Don’t even know if I should pick it back up again or try something else.

      2. That’s awesome Jacob! It must be a pretty good program. If you enjoyed it I would say go back otherwise try something new!!!

        I hope you will have a great weekend!!!

        ❤ Alana

      3. It kind of sucked, it had me working out and doing cardio, every single day, and I was already exhausted from my 2 jobs and my writing and dance classes so I don’t even know if I did it right, but I ended up maintaining my weight to within 2-3 lbs, but I just felt tired.

      4. Yeah, that sounds intense!!! I admire you for sticking with it as long as you did, but if you are too worn out by the end of the day it might not be worth-it. I started seeing pretty good results when I was consistently doing hiit type workouts. I really like fitness blender for that because they have a wide variety of workouts and you can choose the length. I hope you will find something that works well! Let me know when you do 🙂

    1. Hey Girl!

      Yep, I did set some goals :). I don’t know if I will accomplish every one,but I decided to give myself a wide variety to choose from then hopefully some of them will happen.
      Thanks for stopping by and good luck on your goals too!!! You got this!!!

      ❤ Alana

  3. You can do it! And whatever few things you miss can go on for next year. I wish you much success. I’m a survivor too! You have to give yourself time to heal and its a process.

    1. Hi Mira!
      Thanks so much for the encouragement! You’re so right I can always pick up the things up left out this year next year. It is always nice to be in touch with another survivor. I am sending you big *hugs*.

      ❤ Alana Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

