Workout and Word of the Day: #2

Hello My Dear Darling Friends!

This morning in class we learned about bones, joints, tendons, and ligaments.  I learned that being sedentary can cause brittle bones.  It is important to stay active and do weight-bearing exercises like resistance training, walking, jogging, etc.  Examples of non weight-bearing exercises are swimming and cycling.  These exercises are good for the heart and cardiovascular system, but when it comes to building stronger bones; we need to lift!

My nutrition has been sporadic with my crazy school schedule.  I have been getting to bed a little late then rushing off to school.  As a result, I have been feeling tired.  This evening I packed myself a lunch for tomorrow so that should give me some energy.

Today felt extra busy with classes and DJ training.  I felt like going to sleep by 5 pm.  I was beginning to think that I would “start workout out tomorrow.”  Then I remembered how happy and uplifted I felt after Monday’s workout.  I have noticed that exercise greatly improves my mood.  I need to capitalize on that!

By 6 pm I was almost positive that I did not have enough energy to exercise.  Then at 6:15 I found myself driving to Zumba class in the pouring down rain.  Finding parking was challenging this evening.  I circled around then finally found a spot!

Today’s Workout of the Day: ZUMBA!!! + Kettlebell Circuit

I didn’t know that I was going to Zumba until I was backing out of my driveway and it was TOTALLY worth-it!  I don’t think I have ever regretted a Zumba workout!

Kettlebell Circuit:

  • 10 Kettlebell lunge and Twist
  • 10 Squat & Shoulder press
  • 10 Kettlebell Swings
  • 10 Halos
  • 10 Chops

*Complete this circuit 3 x’s!!!


Word of the Day:

beguile-verb

  1. charm or enchant someone, sometimes in a deceptive way.
  2. help (time) pass pleasantly

Tonight I want to work on my evening wind-down routine.  This means not going directly from my computer to bed.  And yes, it also means that I shouldn’t sleep with my phone.  Maybe I will read a paperback book or journal before bed.

Do you have a nightly routine?  Comment below to share your routine!  I would love to hear all about it!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

❤ Alana Xoxoxo

9 thoughts on “Workout and Word of the Day: #2

    1. Hi Gina!
      You should definitely go to zumba! It is so much fun that I forget that I am working out. It feels like a party and people of all shapes and sizes come together and have a blast!!!
      Have a great weekend!!!

      ❤ Alana

Leave a Reply

