Workout and Word of the Day:#4

Yes, it’s true!  Out of this entire year I have only done 4 independent workouts.  And by that I mean workouts outside of my dance workshops and classes at school.  I believe this is the least active I have ever been in my entire life.  I used to either swim or my jobs required me to be active.  When I was coaching swim team I was always walking up and down the pool and moving vigorously to demonstrate technique.  When I taught swim lessons I was always swimming up and down the pool with my students and I managed to work in some extra laps.  I also always had a gym membership.  My bf and I decided this past fall that we were not going to invest in a gym this year to save time and money.

In the fall I was working out consistently because it helped me get through my computer science class.  As a result of my lack of exercise, I am at my heaviest weight.  I have found new motivation to get healthy after attending my dad’s doctor appointment.  I need to take back my life and take better care of myself.  No more beating myself down and no more self-sabotage in the form of junk food and sugary snacks.

Thankfully the rest of my life is going well.  I love my classes at school and my boyfriend and I are happier than ever.  I am challenging myself everyday and am pursuing new interests.  I know that becoming a healthier and better version of myself will just make everything even better.

Yesterday I finally got my butt to workout!!!

Workout of the Day: Cardio + Stationary Bike

This workout was way more than a warm-up:

 

I liked this workout because it was short and sweet and used exercises that I was already familiar with:

 

I really need to build myself back up again.  I was struggling to do leg lifts.  Good thing I am Back!!!

Then after all that I rode 40 minutes on the stationary bike and watched “Dance Academy.”  It was the end of season 2 so I broke out in tears throughout the show :(.  


Word of the Day:

afferent-adj.

  1. conducting or conducted inward or toward something (for nerves, the central nervous system; for blood vessels the organ supplied)

I am glad that I got back on track with working out sooner than later.  Life gets in the way and it is easy to get off track the main thing is that we Always go back!!!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

❤ Alana Xoxoxo

6 thoughts on “Workout and Word of the Day:#4

  1. Thanks, I am struggling to motivate myself to go to the gym, where I am a PAYING member. I am going to make it happen! I will pray your strength sis, please keep me lifted as well. Be blessed!

    1. Hi Lady Jay!
      You can do it!!! Just remember that your health is the ultimate investment. You deserve to be happy, healthy, strong, and fit! Do you like group fitness classes? I always enjoyed the dance classes. Find a workout that you enjoy! I am praying for you too!!!

      ❤ Alana Xoxoxo

      1. Thanks, Alana! I made it to the gym:-) I will look into those classes. Secretly I fear not being able to keep up, as I am out of shape and uncoordinated; however, I have to start somewhere. I appreciate the encouragement!!!

      2. Great job on making it to the gym!!! I totally understand the apprehension around classes. I am the same way, but we all have to start somewhere. Remember to always just go at your own pace. It is just fine to slow down or modify and if any movement or exercise causes pain; you don’t have to do that one. Another fun way to approach classes if you choose to is to go with a friend. Keep up the great work. I am cheering you on!!!

        ❤ Alana

    1. I learned that word because it came up in my physiology final. I really enjoyed reading about your embarrassing moment. It was nice of Granny to offer you some tips! Keep up the gyming!!!!

      ❤ Alana Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

