Transform Your Life Project 2.0: Week #17

Hello My Dear Darling Friends!

The biggest highlight of last week was that I was Eating Clean.  I started Ani Phyo’s raw food detox.  I think the part that I enjoyed the most about following this plan was how organized I was.  I would write down my menu and all of the ingredients the night before.

20170423_124937  This was the MOST amazing time saver ever!!!  I didn’t have to waste time agonizing over what I would eat for dinner and it increased my efficiency phenomenally.  Because every daily menu was different I found myself looking forward to my meals.

I stuck with this plan for 7 days.  The first 3 days were cleanse days in which my meals consisted of smoothies and soups.  For days 4-7, I started eating salads and adding dates to my smoothies.

What were the challenges that ultimately led to my discouragement?  I think it was the criticism from those around me.  A handful of people started saying that my fruit intake was way too high and that much sugar (even natural sugar) would make me sleepy.  I also noticed that my meals lacked protein.  I don’t doubt that I could have stuck with the plan for another week, but last friday I ran for miles and that night after agonizing for a few hours, I caved and ate a salad with seafood on top and a piece of gluten free bread.

Up until that point, I had cut out dairy, flour, refined sugar, and had refrained from coffee!  I can hardly believe that I really did it!  I stuck with that plan to the book.  Yes, I am disappointed  that I allowed myself to fall off the wagon.  Most of my meals since Saturday have not been great.  Not terrible, but not great.

I do have to say that I was feeling a little out of it and my brain was feeling foggy.  I am sure that if I had given it more time, my energy probably would have increased.  Also, as healthy as I am sure that they are; I am not a big fan of cold vegetable soups especially ones that have avocado whipped into it.  The author emphasized the fact that this plan would be effective without exercise.  I honestly think that I need a lifestyle plan that is exercise friendly.

I had some wonderful moments of eating clean and I feel extremely encouraged by this.  I never thought that I would be able to give up flour, dairy, refined sugar, and caffeine AND stick with it for 7 days!!!

Now that I can do that, I should be able to jump right into a healthy lifestyle again.  I will admit that I fell off these past few days and my lack of energy and brain fog has been way worst than it was.

So here I go, I want to reattempt this whole eating clean lifestyle, but this time I want to do it right in a healthy way that is sustainable for me.  I know that a raw food diet is wonderful and has many health benefits so please don’t think that I am criticizing it.  I just need to find what works best for me.  I have noticed that when I lack energy it is hard for me to find the motivation to work out.  I am not going to give up until I figure out what works!!!  This current week has been stressful for me.  I am still behind and we are in the midst of mid-term week.  I am just going to do the best that I can and focus on learning.


And just like that, a new month has begun!!!

May:

Mix It Up!

  • Get creative.

  • Re-organize your life.  I am going to start this today by cleaning my room and cleaning out my kitchen to prepare myself for clean eating!

  • Paint Something.  This doesn’t have to be something super fancy.  Even a little baby spark of creativity is good enough for me.

  • Do something you’ve never done before.  I want to stick with a healthy and clean lifestyle and begin my weightloss journey in a healthy way.

  • Go on an adventure!

What are your goals for May?!?!  Please comment below to share them with me!!!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

❤ Alana Xoxoxo

18 thoughts on “Transform Your Life Project 2.0: Week #17

  1. I’m trying to transition over to eating healthier. I’ve been having fruit smoothies but sometimes add spinach or kale. I can’t taste any major difference so it’s good. I want to try more organic foods, less sugar and less salt

    1. It is wonderful that you are making this transition for your health! It sounds like you are on the right track with your smoothies. Yes, I really like how adding spinach and kale doesn’t make the smoothies taste bad and we are getting the beautiful benefits of green! Keep up those healthy habits. I am with you on eating more organic fresh foods and less salt and sugar!

      ❤ Alana Xoxoxoxo

      1. Yes, It is a struggle sometimes because of cravings, and sometimes I’m left unfull but I have to find things I can have in between or on the side other than chips and cookies for example

      2. It is a test of willpower, isn’t it? I struggle with the same kinds of cravings. I have noticed that the cravings hit the hardest when I am tired and stressed out. We can do this!!! I believe in you :).

        ❤ Alana

      3. Speaking of which, after 7 days of eating completely clean, I just got through a week of eating not so cleanly and I felt a HUGE difference. I was exhausted and even felt a little sick. Also my pores got a little clogged whereas before, my skin was starting to glow and look blemish-free.
        I went grocery shopping yesterday for healthy food and I am going to give clean eating another shot!!!
        Have a great week!!!

        ❤ Alana

      4. I still can’t believe what a Dramatic difference I felt between a week of eating clean and a week of going back to my old ways. Eating clean has its challenges especially in willpower, but I feel so much better.

    1. Let’s get organized together! I also get overwhelmed mentally especially when I fall behind, but I am going to start combating that with action! I guess the best way to get caught up is to get moving! Have a wonderful week!!!

      ❤ Alana Xoxoxo

  2. It’s crazy how fast May came around O_o!! I understand you girl! I’ve followed the fast metabolism several times and because it is so strict, I find myself not being able to follow it, part of it because I had to eat more often and more healthy meaning more expensive. Cutting out wheat and white rice is for me quite hard, but it also means that I have to replace it with something which is likely to be more expensive…
    So for now, I try to eat as much food that I like as possible but substituting the starch with veggies like broccoli or cauliflower. I don’t cut my dairy as I do eat yoghurt in the morning. I haven’t lost a gram, but I do feel good… I’ve really been enjoying chicken with almond crust (sort of nuggets) with a bit of olive oil mayo… My point is, if it’s not too strict, it is easier to follow. If it’s something that’s sooooo extreme, it get’s really hard to continue it. Even if you do, you know you’ll stop at some point because you want to go back to actually enjoying your food… Anyways, I still believe a balanced diet is important, but losing those little pounds isn’t easy… We’ll have to take it gradually! xoxo Sarah

Leave a Reply

