Transposing Poetry Into Dance

Hello My Dear Darling Friends!

This morning I slept through my alarm and missed ballet class…

Well, I could have decided to wake up.  My whole world wanted me to wake up.  There was Alleyjandra purring by my face and circling me.  Then lightly licking and sometimes nibbling at my toes.  Then Ruby would pop up and my alarm would go off, and then there was the knocking at the front door, but nothing could get me up on time.  It just felt so nice to relax and slip back into dreamland…

Thankfully I have 2 weeks to make up the 2 ballet classes that I missed this quarter.

I am not going to miss today’s rehearsal for Professor Kabby Mitchell’s Memorial which takes place next Friday.  Luckily for me the ladies all agreed to meet at 1 pm which is do-able.  Well, I guess it was up to me because I scheduled us that time in the dance studio.

We are working on choreography for our final poetry project.  Professor K actually assigned this project to us right before he passed away…


Dream Catchers

Jennifer:

As your spirit moves with force like lightening

Dancing on the hills during a warm summer monsoon you strike.

As your presence illuminates this dark world,

We see, we see, we see you.

-Seeds Of Resilience By Growing Up Najavo

Alana :

Now you understand

Just why my head’s not bowed.

I don’t shout or jump about

Or have to talk real loud.

When you see me passing,

It ought to make you proud.

-Maya Angelou (Phenomenal Woman)

Lupe:

Found yourself in a new direction

Eons far away from the sun.

Can you come when they come to reach you

Let you know you’re not the only one.

-Beach House (Myth)

Olivia:

Importuning life for life

Walk not in woe but for little

Let your step be slow.

-Dorothy Parker (A Dream Lies Dead)


Our assignment was to choose a stanza of poetry that spoke to each of us and then we would each create choreography for our group by transposing the poetry into dance.  The overall mood of our program this quarter has been very solemn and sad with the passing of our beloved professor…

But, the show must go on!  I am working with a group of wonderful young ladies and the experience has been wonderful and full of joy even in this time of sadness.  We all decided that we would perform our poetry piece at Kabby’s Memorial and dance to spoken word.

I booked the dance studio for us from 1-5 pm thinking that we would only be there for some of the time.  I also brought my laptop and installed Audacity onto my computer so that we could practice recording our poetry.  I get there before everyone else and was able to get set up and warmed up.

20170527_130923
Ready To Dance ❤

2/4 of us showed up for rehearsal and I am just so glad that Lupe was able to make it.  Together we warmed up with the group dances that Professor K himself choreographed and taught us.

“Waving Through A Window”:  This was the 1st dance that Professor K taught us and it still makes me feel a little sad because his memory is so alive with this song which is also a happy memory too.

“Down” By Marian Hill:  This was one of my favorite dances.  I loved how strong and sassy it made me feel!

“All Blues” By Ernestine Anderson:  This was the last dance that Professor K taught us.  He said that he was very good friends with the vocalist.  This is another favorite of mine.  He often had me demonstrate stanzas of this dance because he liked my interpretation.  I have always loved blues because it gives a chance for my soul to shine through ❤

“Shape of You” By Ed Sheeran.  I think this was everyone’s favorite.  It was so fun and sassy.  I think that if I practiced this dance at least 3 times daily I would get the tight and toned abs that I’ve always dreamed of…  I might have to start doing that ❤

“Fix Me Jesus” Kathleen Battle: This song absolutely gives me chills.  She has such a beautiful voice and I remember that Professor K was almost in tears as he taught it to us.

IMG_0214 (1)And that concludes our group dance pieces that we have worked so hard on these past two quarters.

I just feel so happy and alive when I am dancing.  I used to always think that I could not become a dancer unless I had started when I was 6 years old or younger.  Now that I have found dance I hope that I will always dance my entire life.

What are your favorite songs to dance to and what styles of dance do you like?  Please comment below and share!

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

❤ Alana Xoxoxo

8 thoughts on “Transposing Poetry Into Dance

Leave a Reply

