Transform You Life Project 2.0: #21

Hello My Dear Darling Friends!

I have mixed feelings about this past week.  On one hand I feel really good about being more consistent with my studies, but on the other hand I let my housekeeping and other facets of my life slide a little.  Life is one giant balancing act, I suppose.

I started going on daily walks with my dog, Ruby which is very positive.  I even ran 4.4 miles on Sunday after my accidental photo mishap.  I guess that’s the universe’s comical way of keeping us in check.

Yesterday I got a giant wake-up call once again!  I was feeling happy and energetic and even let my hair down during dance workshop.  My partner in morning stretches complimented me and said that I have very strong legs.  Also, one of the dancers said that I looked beautiful and had such a healthy glow.  I was feeling great, but at the very end of class when we were practicing our Final poetry project in front of class, at the very end of the routine my leg went crack and it was so loud and embarrassing.  I felt a surge of shock then pain course through my body.  I wasn’t sure why happened and Why did it have to happen this week of all times?  I have a final performance this Thursday (tomorrow) and on Friday we are performing dances for Professor Kabby Mitchell’s Memorial.  I keep on going back to that moment and wishing that I had stepped out or left early then maybe that would have never happened.  I guess it is another example of how “Life is what happens when you are making other plans.”

The shock stayed with me for the rest of the day.  Thankfully I had enough cash to get some arnica gel and my ice pack was cold by the time I got home.  I decided to lay in bed even though it was only 6 pm.  That’s when I realized that I really need to take better care of myself.  I know that I talk about it a lot and I know what “I need to do.”  But doing it consistently everyday sure is challenging.  I admit that I have taken my health for granted at times and then I place daily demands on my body expecting it to carry out these demands seamlessly.

I am choosing to see this as a blessing in disguise.  It could have been worse.  I think I must have pulled or strained my hamstring.   Thankfully, I can still walk (a little slower and with a little pain, but walking is still walking).  I also have a dr. appointment today at 4:20.  Part of me wants to cancel it and just say that I will be okay, but I will go in because I need to start  honoring and respecting my body again.  I don’t want to make this worse.  Part of me is really hoping and praying that I will be able to dance tomorrow and on Friday.  Please keep me in your prayers.

 

June:

Make Time For Family and Friends

  • Write letters.
  • Remember birthdays.
  • Be Generous.
  • Be Present.
  • Don’t Gossip.

It is not quite June yet, but I think it is good to look ahead!  I got a headstart on writing letters since I dropped a letter in the mail this past weekend for my friend, Paige.  I kind of think that maybe I got injured because I have been so stressed and not really present so being present will be a good practice for me.

Today I am going to drink lots of water, clean and organize my space, go to my Dr. appointment, then complete and turn in my anatomy and physiology final.  

What is on your to-do list today?  What are your favorite ways of showing your body the respect and honor that it deserves?  Comment below to share!

Love, Joy, and Blessings always,

❤ Alana xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

