Transform Your Life Project 2.0: #23

Hello My Dear Darling Friends!!!

I made it through finals week and summer is officially here!!!  Or if you are in New Zealand I guess it is winter.  Last week was stressful, but we got through it.  I was still nursing my hamstring injury which is going to take a long time to heal.  School was still cancelled last Monday due to another campus threat.  It worked out because I had to bring Carl to his neuter appointment.  Then I got an extra-early start on Tuesday morning.

WIN_20170407_23_00_43_Pro

I had my first appointment with my physical therapist.  She was so knowledgeable and informative, but I wasn’t very happy with the outcome.  She said that based on the pain that I have been experiencing, my injury could be pretty severe and would take a long time to heal.  She said that I should refrain from stretching and any movement that caused any amount of pain.  She also said that I should only increase my activity by 10% each day.  Based on her findings she also said that I should refrain from dancing and any activities that involved my lower body.

I was glad that I went to that appointment, but I left feeling very sad and discouraged.  Before my appointment I was planning on attending class/rehearsal for Kabby’s Memorial.  But after that appointment, it seemed like the best thing for me to do was to go home and cry and feel depressed.  Thankfully, my darling friend Lupe texted me and encouraged me to come to class so I did.  I had to move a lot slower and the stairs were challenging, but my class and teacher were so supportive and encouraging.  I am glad that I made it because I honestly thought that I was not going to dance in the memorial due to my injury.  I am so glad that I went to class that day because it brought me joy thanks to Lupe ❤

My dance professor said that very gentle stretching and careful movement within my range was important so that I could eventually regain my mobility.  She also referred me to a physical therapist and massage therapist.  That afternoon my mom invited me to her physical therapy appointment and her therapist said the same thing.  She also said that her own mother got “frozen shoulder” and her initial physical therapist told her not to move it, but that made it worse in the long run.  The pt that ultimately helped her to heal had her work on movements within her range.  That evening I felt better than I had in a while so there must be something to moving within our ability.  I was also inspired to start building muscle to prevent future injuries.

I completed nearly all of my final assignments ahead of schedule which was a great feeling!  Thursday arrived so quickly and I got to the ballroom early so that I could get a good parking spot.  I was thrilled that my poetry group all made it and we decided on the spot that we would perform our piece at the memorial.  I knew that this day would be so bittersweet because it was the final class of Spring Quarter.  After 20 weeks together, it was hard to believe that “Dancing Molecules Dancing Bodies” was coming to an end.  I was also relieved.  This quarter was rough in so many ways, but we made it!  The memorial was beautiful.  I felt so much sadness, joy, and love as we came together to celebrate and commemorate the life of our dear professor.  It is a day that I will always treasure. 

20170608_152830.jpg
The dates were clearly wrong…  We all know that he was only 33 🙂

I cannot believe that we are already half-way through June!!!  Where has the time gone?!?!  I guess I better get to work on my monthly goals:

June:

Make Time For Family and Friends

  • Write letters.
  • Remember birthdays.
  • Be Generous.
  • Be Present.
  • Don’t Gossip.

This afternoon I have my evaluation with my science professors and then I want to spend the rest of my day/week de-cluttering, cleaning, and organizing my room and my home.  The great news is that over the weekend I made it a point to deep clean my kitchen!  It just HAD to happen!!!

20170611_164032.jpg
Home always feels more like home with a neat and clean kitchen ❤

For me getting started is usually the hardest part!  What are your goals and plans for the rest of June?  Please comment below to share!  I would love to hear all about it.

Love, Joy, and Blessings Always,

❤ Alana Xoxoxo

2 thoughts on “Transform Your Life Project 2.0: #23

  1. What happened to your hamstring? (I probably missed reading that post!) It’s good that you got different opinions when it comes to your therapy and it’s even better that you are allowed to move. Hoping you’ll have a fast recovery and you’d be back to your old self in no time. 🙂

    1. Hi Kat!
      I was at a dance workshop and at the very end of class we were practicing our final project in front of the entire class and at the Very end my leg went *CRACK* and was super loud. I was so embarrassed. Since then I have found out that I tore my hamstring. Thanks for your well-wishes. I just need to be careful and make sure that I don’t re-injure myself.

      ❤ Alana

Leave a Reply

